Technology’s Role Within Imagination and the Arts: A Media Experiment

Emma Hage Guyot
Media Ethnography
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2017

My younger sister is an artist, she mostly focusses on drawing and painting. While she loves immersing herself in her art, she definitely spends a good chunk of her time, like any normal teenager these days, scrolling through multiple forms of social media and the great wide interweb for endless forms of entertainment. Being born and brought up in a younger generation that was surrounded by countless forms of developing technology, for her, it was a norm. Turning to technology and looking at it as an outlet for inspiration is completely normal and considered positive! She considers it something to embrace in part of her techniques and process for any pieces she creates.

When I was coming up with the idea and thought process behind this article I found myself asking her if she uses technology a lot to look for inspiration for new pieces. She replied to me by eagerly stating, “Of course! I use it all the time! Pinterest is probably my favorite, I have tons of folders saved full of ideas.” Being an avid Pinterester myself, I genuinely enjoy scrolling through the almost overwhelming amount of possibilities that is presented to me. I most definitely wouldn’t call myself an artist, quite the contrary actually, but once in awhile I enjoy trying to dabble in arts and crafts. When this rare and sudden epiphany does choose to come to me, I find myself turing towards outlets such as Pinterest to spark my imagination and peak my inspiration.

I think it is safe to say that artists of all kind, professional, mediocre, Picasso worthy, or just straight up stick figures, turn towards other outlets of inspiration and imagination to create their works. In a world that is now so technologically based, I don’t see how it’s possible for someone to not turn towards the endless amounts of options at their disposal, at their fingertips, just waiting for them to use and create.

--

--