The Prefect time to post.

Elias Guzman
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2017

February 14 of 2017 was the last time I posted anything on my personal Instagram account and it wasn’t necessary about love or friendship. The post before that one was on July 9 of 2016 and it was just a view of the city of Philadelphia. As one can clearly see, there a huge gap between post and that I’m not active on social media as my friends or peers but I still enjoy posting content that I find enjoyable, except for selfie (since I don’t know my camera angle).

However, for an indie musician that is looking to promote their talent to others, they can’t sit back and be looking at memes on Instagram. They are busy scheduling and practicing their next post that will keep their followers interested and stay connected to potential partnerships. As I watch the short videos that they post on Instagram and on YouTube I wonder about the process and the amount of takes they had gone through.

The Indie musicians that I see on my Instagram feed are like that of the Fado singers in the book Fado Resounding. The reason being is that the fadistas are constantly singing or preforming in the local Fado venues. While some are just singing for the enjoyment of the Fado, there is a small amount of them that are singing to be noticed in order to sing Fado as a career. The same can be said about the people that post the sixty second clips of themselves playing. There are a few that argue that they post these clips to just play along to their favorite track and get feedback just like some fadista in the book.

Trying to become a professional musician is a challenge because you don’t want to post content to a point that you become a pest, but at the same time you can’t go a long time between post if you are still new. Finding that middle ground is essential in gaining followers and getting your name and talent become known.

--

--

Elias Guzman
Media Ethnography

Every musical note has a unique tone, just like every word has a unique meaning.