Trolls… Who needs them?

Logan Levy
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2017
http://www.dreamworks.com/trolls/

If only internet trolls were as sweet and cute as the trolls in the movie “Trolls”. However, they are not. Below is a picture of my mask that I made to represent my experience with Trolls.

My mask tells a story about my only experience with an internet troll. The story reads from the left side of my face to the forehead to the right side of my face. It started when the troll attacked me for my take on Baltimore Beatdown yet the other day he said something very similar. It was clearly a form of mask trolling. Then the same person decided to attack me personal on the blog. Having never met this person, or know who it is, I was stunned. I was shocked and bewildered. Mainly, I was heart broken, hence the broken heart on my left cheek. Then for a couple of days I isolated, and did a lot of thinking/ researching. I began second guessing everything I have done and even my career choice. This is why I drew a picture of me (on the left, alone) and my friends in a different location together having fun (on the right). After breaking free of my self-pity, I thought about it (hence the emoji knock off thinking picture) and realized this is what the troll wants. The troll wants me to think over my life and effect me. So I decided to rise against and continue to write articles regardless of what he wrote. Eventually when he/she realized their attempts to stop me weren’t working, they stopped. Rising above. I tell this story to you, to tell you Trolls are attention-seekers who will do/say anything to receive attention. My best piece of advice, ignore them.

--

--