Welcome to my food blog: a media experiment

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2017

I spent my spring break traveling around Florida. I thought it would be interesting to track what I was eating as a majority of my meals were out at restaurants since our Airbnbs did not have kitchens. Now how does this relate to my research on foodstagrams? One of the most interesting things I have come across during my research is the lack of actual rating of the food. Foodstagrammers would much rather that their food is photogenic than actually tastes good. This is shown throughout my pictures, because I ate them I know whether they were enjoyable or not. But you, as the reader, can only assume by looking at the photograph. Which were good which were bad? You’ll never know.

A fun task: Look through a foodstagrammers posts like this one and look for a caption that discusses or reviews the actual taste of the food that is pictured. It is fairly difficult and sometimes impossible!

--

--

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography

I am currently a student at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. I am pursuing a degree in Media and Communications and French graduating in May 2018.