What it’s like to be a video ethnographer

Frederick Henderson
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readJun 7, 2017

This comic illustrates my future position in video ethnography and how my actions allow for results. While having little background knowledge on qualitative research, I go and do some fieldwork that allows for information to be gathered and then shared with my peers. The key to success in video ethnography is observation. Acting as a passive participant, or by interviewing people in natural settings, one can understand what is needed and what must change. To give an example, consider a weight room. You have limited space to move around and certain equipment is used for different tasks. My job would be to observe people’s behaviors within the environment and come up with designs to accommodate the users.

--

--