Who do you get fit for?

Shilpa Raj
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2017

A year and a half ago, I discovered a passion I never thought I would have. I never played a single sport in my life and I always considered myself non-athletic. I was the girl who was into dance, music, and arts. I still am, but there’s more to me now. I LOVE lifting.

When I started going to the gym, I didn’t have the right mindset. I went to just go. I skipped out on sets and didn’t do all of the reps if I didn’t feel like it. One day, I snapped out of that changed my mentality. I was going to the gym for me and only me. I was helping anybody else but myself by workout. I was only cheating myself by not giving it my all.

I want to focus my paper on the topic of college students and their interest and dedication towards fitness. I want to dive into how people prioritize fitness, exercise, and a healthy life style. How imagining the results that can be achieved pushes you to keep going.

--

--