You do what? Digital Habits revealed

Logan Levy
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2017

You never know who someone really is until you look at their internet history. South Park did a great parody of this, in their most current season. The town of South Park and the rest of world was losing their minds, burning everything because each person’s internet history would become public information. What would the world do if this were possible? It may already be possible to some, but I am talking about making it so easy such as searching pies on Google, BING, Yahoo or any other search engine. Would the world collapse? Would friends become enemies? Would people lose jobs? I believe so.

https://twitter.com/triplekyun/status/806723128617410560

How do people discuss their digital habits? It depends on the person. Some people are very open and engaging about what their hobbies/habits are, while others are very discreet. For me, I am fairly open about what I do, digitally. I think for me, I learn things from others while communicated about my struggles/advancements digitally. For example, I was struggling to format my article for my blog the exact way I wanted. I discussed this with my editor, told him how I wrote it and formatted it, etc and he changed my entire blog life. He told me his way of formatting, writing and it made everything a lot more effective. It changed my habits, for the better. If we are not open, than we may never advance or move with society. Maybe that story is a tad bit much but the point is clear, without being open and honest, it could be bad news.

https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/facebook

I believe Facebook, Google Hangouts, instagram and twitter is how most people communicate their digital habits. It is such a common tweet, post or message to communicate ones digital habits. How they do it, is another reflection of their digital habits. In “Ethnographic Field Notes and Reflexivity” by Paivi Eriksson, Elina Henttonen and Susan Merilainen, they talk about reflexivity. They say, “In general, reflexivity can be understood as an essential human capacity to make sense of social existence, i.e. something that we are all engaged with on everyday basis.” Reflexivity is strongly correlated with digital habits because they are talking about how society reacts to things that “everyone does”. We all participate in social media, whether we accept it or not, we must or we will not survive. I have written about my war against social media but both of my jobs forced me to join social media or I would not have either job currently.

--

--