Yvonne Orji Has A Message For All Of Us

Live Your Life.

Raafeke
Media Eye
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Yvonne Orji, Nigerian-American comedian and actress.

When I look at Yvonne Orji on my TV screen I see many things. I see a woman who is talented, comedic, powerful, and dynamic all at once. I see someone who has come from a similar place and is doing what I want to do. I see a trailblazer.

A few days ago Yvonne featured on the Breakfast Club, putting her interview a few weeks behind her co-start and friend, Issa Rae. Together, the two of them have made the show Insecure what is today, a comical, emotional adventure about love, friendship, and life. I had watched Issa Rae’s interview and loved it, but I thought it was so interesting how Yvonne touched on things that Issa didn’t, particularly on their shared background as 1st-generation Americans.

For those that don’t know, Issa Rae’s father is from Senegal, and Yvonne Orji herself is a Nigerian immigrant, having been born in Nigeria and moving to Maryland in her later years. As a comedian and an actress, she stands out as a different beacon of success compared to the conventional occupations many immigrants push on their children, such as being a doctor or lawyer.

In her interview with the hosts of the Breakfast Club, Yvonne talks about her experience over the pandemic and various shutdowns nationwide, giving us a little insight into her personal life. At one point she talks…

--

--

Raafeke
Media Eye

West Indian 🇬🇾🇬🇩. New Yorker. I write when I feel called to do so. Check out my book, “Radiance Lost” on Amazon and my podcast, "Parrotbeetie".