Travelling to University

meganwaltersmedia
Media Makers
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2019

Hi, I’m Megan and I’m a first year university student. The thing about me though is that I’m part of the minority that doesn’t live at university accommodation. I catch four trains everyday to get to my lectures. The days are long and tiring both physically and mentally which a lot of people who don’t commute don’t understand until they do it. I never thought it would be this difficult when I decided I didn’t want to live in accommodation. However, I’ve researched and come up with some things that help me get through the long days and to see the benefits of commuting.

The number one thing I struggle with when commuting is the boredom. Spending hours by yourself can get lonely but my saviour is listening to my favourite music. If music isn’t suiting you then there are many ways to kill the boredom when spending long hours on the train. Another thing I highly recommend is doing your work whilst on the train. This is beneficial because you’re being productive which is guaranteed to make the time go quicker and you don’t have to do all the work when you get home (which gives you more time to catch up on Netflix).

One of the reasons I travel everyday instead of living in accommodation is the financial benefit. Travelling everyday is a lot more cheaper but if it’s not done right it can become quite expensive. The number one thing you must do is research which travel card is suited to your journey. I currently use the M Card 19–25 years which I pay every month and it lets me use as many buses and trains in West Yorkshire. This is best suited for me as my university is based in West Yorkshire but different areas provide different travel cards so do your research.

I know this blog post isn’t really selling travelling everyday to university but that’s because I’m not completely 100% happy myself. The first week was the hardest but the more I’m getting used to it the more happier I am with my decision to commute. However, I urge you to consider all options before making the final decision to travel everyday. Just know it does get better bit by bit you just have to give it time.

Thank you for reading my blog post and I hope it makes you feel better if you travel everyday or if you’re thinking about doing it everyday.

--

--

meganwaltersmedia
Media Makers

Media and Marketing student at Leeds Trinity University.