6 Essential Film & TV Soundtracks

Aakanksha Gupta
Media Matinee
Published in
7 min readAug 4, 2020
Photo by Namroud Gorguis on Unsplash.

Diegetic (on-screen) and non-diegetic (off-screen) sounds play a critical role in film and TV. They help to convey the mood and tone of a story, and to develop the characters and the plot. I have always been especially fascinated by the significance of soundtracks.

I have loved soundtracks since I was a kid, something I owe to Bollywood. I grew up on Hindi-language drama and romance films in which songs emphasized the story progression. Romantic ballads were sung in picturesque landscapes, internal monologues were highlighted by somber tunes, energetic numbers were accompanied by elaborate choreography, and so on. I gained an appreciation and high standards for soundtracks. Having lived outside of India for the past six years, I’m still catching up on Indian films and music, which I hope to write about in the future.

As an anxious and angsty teenager, I couldn’t find Indian films that resonated with my struggles, particularly related to mental health, family, and society. I turned to English-language (mainly American) young adult films, and in the process got to learn about soundtracks in a new context. Although the characters weren’t the ones singing, the depth of scenes and emotions were made even more evocative by the songs and scores. This was also uniquely meaningful for me because these films helped me address my emotions and have more open conversations with friends.

It has been great to discover music through films and shows, and I can’t wait to keep learning. Here is my list of all-time favorite soundtracks:

Normal People (2020)

Directors: Lenny Abrahamson and Hettie Macdonald

The show follows two Irish young adults, Marianne Sheridan (Daisy Edgar Jones) and Connell Waldron (Paul Mescal). The story focuses on their relationship, lives, and personal struggles. Marianne and Connell love and care for each other deeply, yet their poor communication constantly gets in the way of their relationship. I felt that the music, clearly chosen with a lot of care, accomplishes two things narratively. One, it bridges gaps between the couple. Two, it intensifies both key moments as well as smaller ones I might have otherwise missed.

I recommend ‘How Normal People Chose 13 Key Songs for Marianne and Connell’ by Jackson McHenry for Vulture.

Top 3 songs:

Steven Universe (2014–2019)

Creator: Rebecca Sugar

Steven Universe is easily my favorite animated story. The show (and film and spin-off) follows Steven (Zach Callison), a half-human and half-alien teenager, and his fellow Crystal Gems, Garnet (Estelle), Amethyst (Michaela Dietz), Pearl (Deedee Magno Hall), and others. It is the most evocative tv show I have watched in years, perfect for kids and adults alike. It has taught me so much about myself, healthy relationships, and the complexities of family. Most of all, it has made me think deeply about what it means to be constantly learning and changing.

Music has been an important part of the show’s narrative right from the start, telling us more about each character and their feelings. I especially love that each one has a musical motif! It was exciting to see the music evolve along with the characters. The soundtrack, composed by Rebecca Sugar and electronic duo Aivi & Surasshu, is just as thoughtful as the show. It features so much musical talent, from the composers to the main cast, to artists including Tom Scharpling, Susan Egan, AJ Michalka, Lisa Hannigan, Patti LuPone, Sarah Stiles, and Mike Krol. I also love both of Emily King’s songs in Steven Universe Future. I’ll leave it at that, and highly recommend the show!

Top 3 songs:

Black Panther (2018)

Director: Ryan Coogler

Black Panther is the 18th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), focusing on the African nation of Wakanda and its king T’Challa/Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman). The film is so powerful in the ways it explores crucial topics: sovereignty, colonization, the nuances of African identities, and the dynamics between Africans and African-American communities.

The soundtrack consists of songs by American rapper and songwriter Kendrick Lamar, who really is a musical genius. I appreciated reading about how much thought he put into this soundtrack. I was especially struck by his ruminations on his own sense of belonging and history: “I felt like I belonged in Africa. I saw all the things that I wasn’t taught. Probably one of the hardest things to do is put [together] a concept on how beautiful a place can be, and tell a person this while they’re still in the ghettos of Compton. I wanted to put that experience in the music.” (This is from a brilliant NPR Music piece by Rodney Carmichael and Sidney Madden).

The soundtrack also features a group of amazing musicians including some of my favorites: Khalid, Sza, Jorja Smith, The Weeknd, Anderson .Paak, and James Blake. The score was created by Swedish composer Ludwig Göransson. I am glad that Göransson strived to amplify African cultures, sounds, and voices throughout the score. I recommend reading ‘How Ludwig Göransson Helped Orchestrate America’s Conversation On Race In 2018’ by Rodney Carmichael for NPR.

Top 3 songs:

Sing Street (2016)

Director: John Carney

Sing Street is one of my all-time favorite coming-of-age stories, and in my humble opinion, John Carney’s best. It follows Irish teenager Conor Lawlor (Ferdia Walsh-Peelo), who is passionate about music, an outlet that helps him to cope with his dysfunctional parents. He creates a band to impress his crush Raphina (Lucy Boynton), and in the process forges meaningful friendships. There are so many good things about this movie. I especially appreciate how it looks at finding family, taking risks with one’s passion, and defying toxic masculinity. I also appreciate Jack Reynor as Conor’s supportive brother Brendan, and Mark McKenna as Eamon, Conor’s bandmate who has a soft spot for rabbits and an affinity for instruments.

I love that the soundtrack reflects both the influence of ’80s music and the band eventually finding their own sound. Fun fact: the film introduced me to ‘Take On Me’ by A-ha, which I later learned was one of Lindsay’s favorite songs!

Top 3 songs:

Lilo & Stitch (2002)

Directors: Chris Sanders and Dean DeBlois

Lilo & Stitch is about Lilo (Daveigh Chase), a young girl, and Stitch (Chris Sanders), an alien pretending to be a dog in Kaua’i, Hawaiʻi. It is my favorite Disney film and resonated most with me, particularly in how it addresses childhood, friendship, and non-nuclear families. Well before Frozen (2013), Lilo & Stitch was the first Disney film I saw that focused on a relationship between sisters. It was different in the ways it looked at loss, small island life, economic downturn, and caregiving. It was also my first glimpse into the realities of social services in the U.S. It was the first animated film I saw whose main characters were people of color. Though, I am grateful to have learned more about the criticisms it has drawn from native Hawaiians.

I love that the soundtrack provides a glimpse into Hawaiian musical customs. It also reflects an aspect of Lilo’s personality through her passion for Elvis Presley’s music. Though I have my issues with Elvis, I also have a soft spot for his music because he was one of the singers my dad introduced me to when I was little. That said, I was most struck by the songs performed by the Kamehameha Schools Children’s Chorus from Honolulu, and Mark Kealiʻi Hoʻomalu, who specializes in mele (chanting in the Hawaiian language) and hula choreography. I appreciated the score, composed by the brilliant Alan Silvestri (of Back to the Future series, Forrest Gump, The Parent Trap, The Polar Express, and more).

Top 3 songs:

Stuck in Love (2012)

Director: Josh Boone

Stuck in Love is about the Borgens, a family navigating life, love, angst, and growth. It focuses on the complex relationships between Bill (Greg Kinnear), a novelist, his ex-wife (Jennifer Connelly), and their kids Sam (Lily Collins) and Rusty (Nat Wolff), who are aspiring writers. This story came to me when I needed it most, at 17 years old, and struggling with my own family and passion for writing.

The film’s score was composed by instrumentalists Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott of Bright Eyes, who contributed a few songs to the soundtrack, along with the band’s lead singer Conor Oberst. I love all the tracks but am most grateful that the film introduced me to Bright Eyes, Elliott Smith, and Cloudbirds. For me, the soundtrack evokes nostalgia and reflects the sincerity of the story and characters.

Top 3 songs:

Special mentions:

  • Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse (2018)
  • Over the Garden Wall (2014)
  • A Star Is Born (2018)
  • Rocketman (2019)
  • Dark (2017–2020)
  • The Umbrella Academy (2019-)

What are your favorite soundtracks? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for reading!

Originally published on our WordPress website on July 15, 2020.

--

--

Aakanksha Gupta
Media Matinee

Hi there! I'm an editor and writer based in Canada. Learn more about me here: www.aakankshagupta.com