Remembering Robin Williams

Aakanksha Gupta
Media Matinee
Published in
4 min readAug 12, 2020
SVG credit: OpenClipart

My favorite Robin Williams film, Dead Poets Society, is full of references to American poet Walt Whitman. After re-watching it, I was curious about Whitman’s work and came across this line:

Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Song of Myself, Section 51

Whitman urges the reader to talk to him before he leaves, after which he asks this famous line. I think that this contradiction he speaks of is a fundamental part of human nature — we hold many complex feelings and truths at the same time. What stood out most to me about Robin Williams was his unique ability to highlight his multitudes on-screen. He had an energy like no other, which he brought to life in so many ways for his different roles. He channeled this into his unparalleled affinity for making people laugh with his wild improvisations and comedic timing. He also made many of us think, process, and cry through his slower, softer, and deeper moments. Today, I am celebrating all these moments, his life, and his legacy as an actor by revisiting my three favorite films.

Hook (1991)

Dir. Steven Spielberg

Hook is a creative take on the classic story of Peter Pan. Robin Williams stars as Peter Banning, a weary middle-aged man bogged down by his job as a corporate lawyer. His compulsive need to work doesn’t allow much time for his wife Moira (Caroline Goodall) and children Jack (Charlie Korsmo) and Maggie (Amber Scott). When the family flies to London to visit grandmother Wendy Darling (Maggie Smith), the children are captured by Captain Hook (Dustin Hoffman). Peter must return to Neverland and seek the help of Tinkerbell (Julia Roberts) and the Lost Boys to remember his origins and save his children from the nefarious Hook. The film is corny and dramatic, but of course, Williams makes that work in the best way possible. It is captivating to watch his transformation from Banning to Pan, to a mixture of both. Williams’ sparkling and heartfelt performance conveys two things that constitute the heart of the story. One, childhood does not have to be so disconnected from adulthood. And two, it is difficult but possible to reconcile different parts of yourself. Unlike the other two films on this list, the only thing I remembered about Hook before my rewatch was Robin Williams and mermaids. I appreciated getting to experience the story as if I was watching it for the first time. The viewing was with my mother and brother, as Williams’ films usually are, and combined the magic of both Peter Pan and Robin Williams.

Jumanji (1995)

Dir. Joe Johnston

Judy (Kirsten Dunst) and Peter (Bradley Pierce) are siblings who have just moved to the town of Brantford, New Hampshire. They come across a mysterious board game and release Alan Parrish (Robin Williams), who had been trapped inside the game’s jungle world for 26 years. To continue the game, they have to reunite Alan with Sarah (Bonnie Hunt), who played the game with him and was traumatized by his disappearance. To beat the game, the group must face dangerous foes from the jungle. Jumanji was one of my family’s favorite films to watch together, so it immediately evokes nostalgia and fondness. This fantasy-adventure story is loaded with cheesiness and the sense of anticipation that comes with getting through video game levels. Beyond its fun surface, Jumanji addresses complex themes such as masculinity, loss, trauma, and fear. Williams lends frantic energy as well as tenderness to Alan, trying to finally defeat the game while dealing with many traumas: being trapped in a jungle, a complicated relationship with his father, and missing out on a normal childhood. Along with defeating the jungle’s horrors, the group has to learn how to both normalize and move forward with the presence of fear. Alan is terrified, brave, nurturing, and frenzied all at the same time. Who better than Robin Williams to weave all these qualities together so compellingly?

Dead Poets Society (1989)

Dir. Peter Weir

This drama film is set in 1959 and centers around a group of high school students at Wellton, an elite all-boys boarding school in Vermont, and their English teacher Mr. Keating (Robin Williams). Mr. Keating is an alumnus of Wellton (“Hellton”) himself, and an unconventional teacher. He emphasizes the importance of poetry to the boys and encourages them to challenge the rigid social norms they are immersed in. For me, Dead Poets Society is one of Williams’ finest performances and puts his versatility on full display. As Mr. Keating, he is both soft-spoken and spirited. His lines are thought-provoking and he delivers them earnestly, while also providing an occasional glimpse into his famous humor and ad-lib skills. This film meant a lot to me as a teenager who grew up in a cultural context that didn’t value the arts and critical thinking. I failed to thrive in a stringent education system that didn’t teach me to learn as much as to achieve high scores and chase a lucrative career. Williams as Mr. Keating entered my life at the perfect time, teaching me that learning did not have to be tedious and formulaic, and that authority could be questioned. He showed me that there was a whole world beyond high school, one that would value me and my passion for writing. Moreover, he taught me how to value these myself, and is a big part of why I’m writing this today. Robin, I hope you are resting easy.

Originally published on our WordPress website on August 11, 2020.

--

--

Aakanksha Gupta
Media Matinee

Hi there! I'm an editor and writer based in Canada. Learn more about me here: www.aakankshagupta.com