The Fear Ends Here: Using Media to Change Mood for the Better

Nathaly Sanchez
Media Theory and Criticism
3 min readSep 7, 2019

By Nathaly Sanchez

It’s the best season of the year people. Not just because it’s my birthday month, but because of the beauty of it all. Warm tones, pumpkins, and pumpkin spice lattes are always nice to enjoy. For the brave of heart it might also be a time for haunted houses, gory masks and of course, scary movies. For me, it’s a time for all the spooky time amenities… except scary movies. Instead, I listen to true crime podcasts. Well, I actually listen to those all year round. Some of them have enough fear packed content to send you with the creeps all the way home. Which is exactly what first happened to me when I got around to listening to And That’s Why We Drink.

When I first listened to And That’s Why We Drink, (which is a true crime and paranormal activity focused podcast, unlike other true crime specific podcasts), I was a freshman at Linfield. It was fine at first, and I would listen with much enjoyment while commuting to and fro from my house to the campus. It wasn’t until lacrosse season had started, and I would be driving more and more during the night time when coming home from practice. AKA the same time that my whole house is dark, quiet and creepy. Now, I will add that technically I was doomed from the start to be very scared at night because of this podcast. I am what most would call a scaredy-cat, a term that will echo through the streets soon around Halloween. I’ve been called a scaredy-cat many times and for good reason. I just am one. So you can imagine my distress when night-time came around, and I just spent an hour out of my day pumping ghost, demon and spirit content into my brain.

I couldn't help listening in each week for new episodes, if you are a podcast lover you will understand exactly what I mean. And starting new podcasts can sometimes even feel like you’re being unfaithful! Luckily, (and interestingly) I found a small, distinguishable way to cope. I would binge listen all I wanted on my 30 minute drive home, and then simply watch cartoons like Bob’s Burgers or even Adventure Time. Really any silly and comical cartoon to take my mind off whatever awful story I just heard. (Note: The stories were awful, the podcast itself was awesome.) This seemed to work, at least the majority of the time it worked. Although, after a while it didn’t distract me like I wanted, and I ultimately had to wean myself off of And That’s Why We Drink for good.

It wasn’t until this fall, in my Media Theory and Criticisms class that I learned about a theory called Mood-Management Theory, which can basically defined as the theory that we can and do use media content to change or just alter our immediate moods. It can be done intentionally, and in my opinion unintentionally as well. I mean, what else would you call listening to a Hot Girl Summer playlist after a breakup for example? It’s the Mood-Management Theory in play, using media (i.e. music, movies, social media feed, memes, and of course, podcasts!). I immediately thought of this theory in this time in my life, when I used media, dumb and funny cartoons on Hulu, to alter my immediate mood and change it to a better one. (Just so I could sleep!)

There are many more examples of I’ve unknowingly used media to alter my mood, but at the end of the day you probably have a million yourself after reading my special anecdote. While this theory generally helped me in my life, it still is just a theory. It hasn’t been proven, and I can see why, as it only really worked for me for a short period of time. Why that is… is its own article I’m afraid. The wonderful psychology that goes behind all our actions and thinking, and where media effects fall into all of it is exactly what I get to explore this semester, and share here within the confides of articles. Question everything, experiment everyday, watch funny cartoons and make yourself calm again. Thanks for reading.

--

--