Budgeting for Broadway

Say GBYE to TKTS

Do you ever walk by Times Square and see the (almost) criminally long line wrapping around bright red steps? The one that people wait for hours on just to get “buy one/get one half off” tickets to Cats? Well, what if I let you in on a little secret… it’s. not. worth. it.

And no I am not just talking about the line, I am talking about the whole thing! TKTS might seem like a bargain to the untrained Broadway eye… and of course it is in comparison to the $200 tickets you stumble upon scrolling through Ticketmaster. But I am not lying when I say it is a complete rip-off. There are so many cheaper (and less time consuming) ways to get Broadway tickets on your next trip into the Big Apple.

My parents took me to my first Broadway show when I was four years old. Ever since then, “city day” has become a family tradition when we ride into the city and see a new show. It was so exciting to catch a train on the LIRR (Long Island Rail Road) and pull into Penn Station knowing that I would be adding another Playbill to my collection.

It was only in high school that I realized that “city day” didn’t have to happen only once a year. But, being a high school student with no job, it was hard to justify spending $175 for mezzanine seats for Phantom of the Opera. I knew there had to be a cheaper way to see these plays.

Since then, I researched, tested and compared different ways of getting discounted tickets to some of my favorite plays. I stayed up to date on the new ways that I could save money while seeing some of the most exclusive and expensive plays of the season.

These tested methods is how I saw Hamilton 3 times (and yes, I saw the original cast)! The first time I paid $50 for mezzanine tickets and the second? $10 for front row. Yes, you read that correctly! And the second row tickets for the same show? Upwards of $500 per ticket. And this wasn’t a fluke either! I used some of these same methods to see Tony Award winning best musical’s Dear Evan Hansen and A Band’s Visit for $35.

It doesn’t stop there either. Being so close to the city I have also picked up the best spots to eat before a show. I can tell you whether the tourist traps are worth it and what amazing places usually don’t have a wait before the show rush.

I am Samantha and, as Wendy Williams would say, I’m a “Native New Yorker.” I have gone to over 50 Broadway plays (57… but who’s counting) and have picked up a few tips and tricks along the way. From my fails to my success stories, I will give you the 411 on all things Broadway on a budget.

Subscribe so you too can be in “The Room Where It Happens”!

--

--