You Are Boring And Need My Help

Introducing Unhinged Lady Friend: Keeping our silly little minds busy with my silly little recommendations

--

As a socially active young college woman, I am constantly strained by the shortcomings of my peers. I wallow in misery every time I make a pop-culture joke that goes over their head, when I implore about their non-existent interests, or stare into their eyes void of anything funny, cool, or sexy.

Just yesterday, I felt the individual nerve endings in my brain wrinkle in pain as I watched two friends puzzle in confusion after I referred to the “blue pill-red pill” phenomena of the The Matrix.

Being the calm-collected-understanding friend that I am, I stayed silent. I accept that not everyone is fortunate enough to be so versed in all matters cool and sexy and humorous as I am. Frequently though, I befriend someone with hollow modes of time consumption due to generic social media algorithms that turn their potential uniqueness into a homogenized mass of collective nothingness.

School, work, family, sleep, eating, bathing are all time consuming parts of our lives. But if our lives are bound to things that don’t serve the self-interest that is mere entertainment, then that’s a really boring life. And if that describes you, then I hate to break it to you…

In some ways, it may not be entirely your fault. Maybe you’re genuinely busy. You manage to take brief breaks on your phone but don’t get attached to anything in particular. Or at least, not the way you would think people are attached to something like sports.

The internet is so gigantic that it seems preposterous to even consider someone not falling into the wormholes of some curiosity. Conversely, I’ve found it does the opposite. People often find themselves limited by the shortcomings of not having infinite time and therefore deny themselves the opportunity to find something they truly enjoy.

Beyond the Netflix trending page and aggregated Apple News recommendations, there is little people do to find interests. Instead they let corporate driven advertisement laden algorithms guide their contemporary online experience.

Just this month, Google TV is marketing themselves with the unique ability to present content with ease from the array of different streaming platforms. Their recent string of commercials include slogans like — “easier TV”, “search easier”, and “the entertainment you love, with a little help from Google”.

I do my fair share of falling in line with many premeditated and impersonal recommendations. But I also spend a lot of time discovering what amuses me most. Considering how much I do through mainstream outlets and how relatively easy I consider them to be, I still marvel at the fleeting nuances of the people around me. I ask my friends and family what they watch, what they listen to, what they read, what they’re hobbies are, if they do ANYTHING, and oftentimes to no avail. They are boring and therefore useless (and also need my help).

As an adorable and likable youngling (albeit unhinged) scratching through the drudgery of mundane college life through the wonders of entertainment, I’m always learning and enjoying existence through content consumption (why others seem not to be doing the same is beyond me).

In an attempt to lean away from my agitating and overly judgemental ways, I will be putting my efforts into public service in the form of this blog.

I, Layla, will dutifully scour the internet and curate content across all mediums and platforms to help people find new interests and hobbies related to entertainment.

I totally understand why you might feel intimidated by my unproved superiority but I promise nothing other than that you are right to feel that way.

You’re homework can wait, the dishes in the sink can wait, the crying baby on the floor CAN WAIT. What can’t wait? Your a crumbling addiction to the dynamic world of trashy romance novels dubbed “new-adult”. What can’t wait? Your fascination with the dichotomous nature of Oscar movies’ cultural relevance despite its waning popularity. What can’t wait? Your obsession with fashion trends and ways to affordably and coolly incorporate them into your closet in an “I actually don’t try” kind of condescending way.

Who has the time (and don’t say me) to find all the best content across every platform and medium and mode out there for you to actually be interested in something I just named? Good thing I’m here! At some private east coast university with way too much time on their hands.

As an easy going unhinged lady friend to all, I’m on a mission to make my readers a little less boring by hand picking and deriving content for things that can interest them.

My goal is to humanize the curation process and show people a variety of different media all pertaining to that week’s topic. Each post will be an amalgamation of videos, podcasts, articles, my commentary, and whatever else I find.

I will cherish every comment and suggestion I will certainly not get. Feel free to change that- and yes I am gaslighting you. I am (totally) not just saying that to make you feel special.

In all honesty, I’m very excited to culminate a variety of different media for the pleasure and leisure of others. Because I will admit, that doing it just for myself is a considerable amount of energy that not everyone can dedicate.

From influencers, books, movies, tv, games, celebrities, music and anything that keeps our silly little minds busy one silly day at a time, I’ll be here with my silly little recommendations.

In the coming weeks:

  1. What your least favorite movie says about you? I saved myself from a potential friend breakup after someone revealed to me their hatred of the movie Spy Kids- I decided to remain calm and save it for the blog.
  2. How to impress the little booger in your family that eats and breathes video games? What this years most popular games say about current day nerdsssss.
  3. A deep dive into the a few book series I have throughly read and passionately hate- most notably from the most popular/best selling young adult authors like Sarah J. Mass. Highlighting some of my favorite reviews and reactions that make me cry in cringe.
  4. Most important movies to see before Awards season- based on what I think makes you cool and interesting and not an annoying Oscar critic.
  5. My quarrel with leisure wear as outerwear + how to dress better for cheap.

--

--