Meet Medill’s 2022 class of media innovation master’s students

Front row (L-R): Julia Sifferlen, Gabrielle Cooke, Ruby Yuan, Ankita Mukhopadhyay, Yu Cai, Cynthia Zhang, Greg Svirnovskiy, Anandita Bhalerao. Back row: Charles Tharpe, Hillary Flores, Robert O. Gross, DeMario Phipps-Smith, Sophia Adamucci, Amelia Rudick, Lauralys Shallow, Maria Andrade, Justin Pasionek, Megan Munce.

They come from Colombia, China and India — and from all over the United States. They’ve worked as journalists, marketers and entrepreneurs. They are excited about the future of journalism and media. They are the newest class of master’s students in the Medill School’s specialization in Media Innovation and Content Strategy.

These 18 students share an interest in storytelling and a passion for creating publications and media products. They want to help invent the future.

“I’m learning things that I’d never thought I would, such as coding, and I’ve found a way to merge two of my biggest interests: journalism and design,” said MICS student Maria Andrade. “And the best part is that I’m learning them hand in hand with amazing teachers and students that are equally passionate about this world as I am.”

Since enrolling in June, the students have taken classes in reporting, ethics and law, and learned to create websites and tell stories in video. In the current academic term, they are taking a class in design thinking for media products. They’re also collaborating with computer science students to build software prototypes, and studying the state of local news. They’ll spend the winter in Chicago and then go to San Francisco for their final academic quarter.

Get to know the MICS class of 2022:

Anandita Bhalerao

Twitter: @ananditablr | LinkedIn

Anandita is a graduate of St. Xavier’s College in Mumbai, where she majored in English literature. She participated in the master’s exchange program at Sciences Po in Paris. She worked as a writer for Verve Magazine India and as a content marketer for ZebPay.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I applied to Medill for a different specialization. Once I got in, I happened to watch Rich Gordon’s online orientation for MICS students. It addressed a lot of the questions I had been asking myself after a year of working at a Mumbai-based lifestyle magazine. As someone who was passionate about media but anxious about its future, it was exciting to realize that I could be part of the solution I was looking for.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“My future goal is to help grow a sustainable news organization that serves an unmet need in the digital space. Personally, I want to continue learning how to sew and eventually have an entirely self-made wardrobe!”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“My favorite digital publication is constantly changing depending on what kind of news and analysis I’m in the mood for, but ever since I came to Chicago it’s been Block Club Chicago. I think they do a great job of immersing themselves in the communities they serve and reaching out to their audience.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Extremely gratifying. Every day I find that I’m challenging myself in new ways, both personally or professionally. I’m getting better at appreciating my strengths and compensating for my weaknesses. It’s also just very fulfilling to be in a room full of people who are so passionate about media and journalism. It makes me hopeful for the future!”

Julia Sifferlen

Twitter: @JuliaSifferlen | LinkedIn

Julia majored in communications at DePauw University, where she served as general manager of the student TV station and had internships at NBC Sports Chicago and at “The Tonight Show Starting Jimmy Fallon” in New York. She has worked as a marketing and communications strategist.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“This specialization gives students a chance to develop a wide range of holistic skills in the media industry. I wanted to pursue a program that was as agile as today’s digital landscape is, and MICS stood out as that program.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“In the future, I hope to work in either product management or audience development at a company that fully embraces the opportunities for change that digital provides. I also hope to adopt at least two dogs.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“TheSkimm’s daily newsletter. I love how they consistently use their unique voice whether they’re summarizing the news or implementing a tasteful pun. Plus, their subject lines are elite.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Although I’ve only been at Medill for a short time, I have already grown so much academically and professionally. I’ve developed skills I never thought I would have and met some incredibly talented people along the way.”

Ankita Mukhopadhyay

Twitter: @muk_ankita| LinkedIn | Instagram

Ankita has an undergraduate degree in history from Lady Shri Ram College for Women and a master’s in international relations and history from the London School of Economics. She was a reporter in India for the German national broadcaster Deutsche Welle before coming to Medill. She has also worked as an associate TV producer, as a business journalist for The Economist Intelligence Unit and as a research analyst for Gartner.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I have always wanted to start my own news company. However, I have primarily worked as a reporter and have little exposure to the product side of the news business. This specialization offered me the opportunity to learn more about news as a product and the digital innovation that goes into news. This is the perfect specialization for me — and I am loving the experience so far!”

Future career and/or life goals?

“My long-term goal is to start my own media company in India. In the short-term, I am interested in working at a US news outlet, to understand the best practices that go into making a successful media company. I want to ultimately create a news product that is based on fair and verified reporting. Fake news is a big problem in India right now and I want to debunk this problem and create a news organization that is devoid of political affiliation or social media antics.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“I am fond of certain products in digital publications. I particularly like the New York Times’ mobile app, as it has a friendly user interface and is customizable. I also like Quartz’s newsletter, as it is written in a friendly format and engages the user with the news. I also like The Skimm’s podcasts — I believe it has made me more knowledgeable than ever about news! I would also recommend The Ken — an Indian publication focused on business news. They are doing some fantastic work in investigative journalism right now and I absolutely love the fact that they take a deep-dive into every issue they cover. I always learn something new from The Ken’s articles.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“It’s an exhilarating experience. Medill is a fantastic school and is so accommodating of every student’s needs. The MICS cohort is particularly amazing. We have an amazing set of students — from psychologists to foreign affairs professionals. I am learning something new every day from my cohort. I also admire the teaching at Medill, as it has made me more analytical and encouraged me to think out-of-the-box. I am able to apply everything I learn in the class to the field and this has made my experience even more special. I would recommend Medill to any student looking to enter the field of journalism.”

Lauralys Shallow

Twitter: @shallowlauralys| LinkedIn

A graduate of Indiana University, where she specialized in sports media and digital journalism, Lauralys worked as a production assistant for ESPN before enrolling at Medill.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“The MICS specialization combines business, tech and media knowledge and skills to improve storytelling and products in the media space. I believe that the MICS specialization will make me a better thinker, creator and teammate in the media field.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I want to work on the digital product side for lifestyle/apparel companies such as Nike, Adidas and Brooks. I am also interested in working in the product space for digital publications like a magazine or news organization.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“Quartz because of the innovative ways Quartz uses visuals to tell stories and the creative approach to newsletters such as the Daily Brief.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Medill is exciting and challenging. I am learning new ways of thinking and problem solving. I am surrounded by classmates and professors that inspire me. Medill has strengthened my passion for the media space, and I am excited to continue my Medill story!”

Yu Cai

Twitter: | LinkedIn

Yu graduated from Beijing Foreign Studies University with a degree in English language and literature. She had public relations internships at Dentsu and Weber Shandwick in Beijing. Yu is also an affiliate of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“Because MICS is a perfect blend of storytelling skills and content strategy. I learned photography, Photoshop, and video editing from being a fangirl and running a fan club. I need to utilize these skills with a strategic view to build an audience.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I want to become a content strategist in the entertainment industry and retire before 60 to earn a Ph.D. in literature. Becoming a product manager would also be a lot of fun.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“The New Yorker. I love the illustrations.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“I am glad I survived the first quarter as someone new to journalism and Chicago. Now I enjoy using CodePen to create web pages and doing UI design. Medill is challenging with lots of fun!”

Amelia E Ash Rudick

Twitter: @AER_Tweets | LinkedIn

Amelia earned her undergraduate degree in psychology from Columbia University in New York. She worked as an analyst for Morgan Stanley before coming to Medill.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“To hone modern story-telling and content creation skills, to become fluent in media technology and learn how to build and maintain an audience”

Future career and/or life goals?

“Ideally, something in audience development or product management where I can use the skills I learned at Medill to meaningfully contribute to a team.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“The New York Times and New York Magazine.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Incredible. The knowledge and experience the professors bring into the classroom is unparalleled.”

Gabrielle Cooke

LinkedIn

Gabrielle majored in journalism at Illinois State University. After graduation, she worked as a multimedia journalist for WCIA-TV in Champaign, IL.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“While working as a TV news reporter I felt I wanted to be more involved with the decisions that affected content, such as our website or social media pages. When I found this program, I felt like it combined all my interests into one.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I hope to work in content strategy, possibly for a lifestyle brand.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“NowThis, because of the video storytelling format they use in their social media videos.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“I’m loving my time so far! I’m learning a lot and its having me stretch my ‘creativity muscles’ in a different way, I look forward to what the rest of the school year holds.”

Cynthia Zhang

Twitter: @cynzhia | LinkedIn

Cynthia was an undergraduate journalism major at Medill before joining the school’s accelerated master’s program. She had internships at NASA and at Prezi, a tech startup that makes visual presentation tools.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“True to the name of our specialization, I’ve always been excited by innovation and how today’s technology has changed the media landscape. It’s also been fascinating to see a growing space for creative storytellers in corporate settings to help brands produce content and better connect with their audiences. My interest in learning more about this space, as well as how to build a career within it, is what brings me to MICS.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I’d love to take on a creative editorial position within a company, whether it’s strategizing digital content production or a more design-oriented role. For now, the dream is to be a creative director, and after the rough year we’ve had, the ‘digital nomad’ lifestyle is also starting to look more appealing.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“I’ve been loving a lot of the bite-sized content The Washington Post has been putting out on their social media platforms lately. The ‘Modern Love’ column from The New York Times also holds a special place in my heart for both its stories and Brian Rea’s lovely illustrations.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“As a student in Medill’s accelerated masters program, it’s been a fun mix of seeing familiar faces again and meeting new ones! It’s also nice to be back in person, and I’ve enjoyed the opportunity to see more of Chicago.”

Ruby Yuan

Twitter: @YuanRuby

Ruby majored in journalism at the University of Southern California, where he served as executive editor for USC Annenberg Media. He served as a creative technologist intern at the Los Angeles Times and later as a product development intern at Stylebot, a copy-editing chatbot company.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I recognize the power of information, and that was a key reason I care about the well-being of the news industry. I have tons of respect for reporters and storytelling, but I’m more interested in or passionate about journalism as a business, an industry or a service. I think that the root of the ongoing journalism crisis is rooted in the system or infrastructure and cannot be solved by more Pulitzer Prize-winning stories. I chose the MICS specialization because it’s one of very few journalism grad programs that focus on news media innovation, technology, business model, product thinking, user research and human-centered design, etc. While I could learn those skills in some non-journalism programs, I think it’s tremendously significant to have a community for vivid conversations about applying these skills in the context of news media.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I want to pursue a career in news product and newsroom R&D, which hasn’t changed since my freshman year in 2016. (Before I knew about these two departments, I always said I wanted to look for a job at the intersection of news, tech and business.) That’s where I would like to start my career. Ultimately, I want to lead a major U.S. newsroom.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“Among digital-native publications, I like Axios and Morning Brew because they act as information dealers instead of story producers. That aligns with my definition of journalism. I want to clarify that the information dealer part does not mean being news aggregators. My point is that they focus on how to deliver information more than how to write a story.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“My experience at Medill has been great, and I give huge credit to the MICS cohort and classes. I received what I expected. During the summer quarter, I often spent an hour after our specialization seminar to digest information received during the three-hour lecture. There were many moments that I felt enlightened, and Prof. Rich Gordon provided a unique perspective for understanding what happened to the news industry. I became less cynical and frustrated, but more understanding and motivated. I’m taking three project-based courses this fall quarter that tackle three aspects of the news industry I’m interested in. I’m excited because even though my undergraduate major was journalism, the three courses are not replicating what I learned before.”

DeMario Phipps-Smith

LinkedIn | Facebook

DeMario earned his bachelor’s degree in journalism from Southern Illinois University. He’s worked as a news writer for Blavity, as a digital editor for the Chicago Sun-Times, and as a writer for the National Football Foundation.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“During my professional career, I’ve been able to work at a variety of media organizations. My work at Medill blends together my experiences and skills, allowing me to participate in efforts that lead to the improved sustainability of journalism as a product.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I aspire to do work that uplifts marginalized communities and helps grow minority-led newsrooms.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“Blavity. I love what Blavity is building from both a culture and infrastructure standpoint. By centering on the Black experience and the stories of Black people, Blavity is entering into important discussions at a critical time for race relations in the country.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time at Medill so far. It’s challenging and rigorous, but it’s rewarding and engaging at the same time. The key is putting in as much as you hope to receive from your time here.”

Charles Tharpe

Twitter: @charlestharpe0| LinkedIn

Charles graduated from the University of Illinois Chicago with a bachelor’s degree in communication and media studies. He’s held internships at Citispoon and Unmutedco.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I want to learn ways to use my storytelling experience to strengthen media and brands. I also wanted to learn ways to create content for publications and in a rapidly growing media environment.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“To become a content strategist for a marginalized community publication.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“Blavity. I believe they do a great job of telling Black stories throughout America, which I think its important, specifically with the world’s climate.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Very rewarding. Not only have I learned so much about user research and the foundations of media innovation, I’ve grown so much as a storyteller and journalist. The professors are so helpful, and I’ve met some amazing friends!”

Megan Munce

Twitter: @meganmuncie| LinkedIn

Megan, a Medill accelerated master’s student, is majoring in journalism and political science. She’s served as campus editor for the Daily Northwestern and has internships or fellowships at The Texas Tribune, the Bay City News and the Asian American Journalists Association.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I’m excited by new and old publications finding new ways of information delivery and reader engagement, and I chose the MICS specialization to learn more about the tools it takes to get involved with creating new media products and avenues of information sharing. As an individual journalist, the MICS specialization is also challenging me to take different approaches to my journalism and think deeply about audience engagement and needs when approaching reporting and writing.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“After graduating I’m hoping to go into statehouse reporting for a local or state-level newsroom. In the long term, I hope to shift into the product development side of journalism and spend more time thinking about how to most effectively deliver information about state and local politics to the readers that are affected by it most.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“My favorite digital publication is CalMatters! It keeps me up-to-date with important California news and goes deep on background and impact, which is important to me when I’m trying to keep up with news from home while I’m in Chicago. I’m also a big fan of their interactive and data journalism, like their legislative tracker.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Getting to experience both the BSJ and MSJ programs at Medill has been really formative to my experience as a journalism student. As an undergraduate, taking classes in other departments gave me new perspectives about different fields. Now in the graduate program I’m getting to focus in entirely on journalism from new angles and with different depth than before.”

Hillary Flores

Twitter: @hgflores_ | LinkedIn

Hillary graduated from DePaul University, where she majored in digital communication and media and founded La DePaulia, a Spanish-language student newspaper. She has interned at Telemundo Chicago and ABC News.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“Due to the passion I have in being able to serve, inform, and equip residents with the tools necessary to bring about change within their communities. I was interested in continuing to explore my creative side and see how I could ultimately continue building and developing products in the digital space that could be a step forward in solving the issue of news accessibility for vulnerable communities.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I hope to obtain roles in product management or audience development for a digital news outlet. Although, if I do obtain the opportunity and resourcing to launch my own digital media business for and by women of color in the Chicago area, I would love to do so!”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“It would have to be Block Club Chicago due to the immersiveness, ambiance and connections they have created between their reporters and the communities they cover. Their team is filled with diverse individuals who have a passion in making news accessible and create content that addresses the needs of vulnerable communities in the Chicago area.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Exceptional! What makes Medill special is that professors work hand in hand with you to ensure that you are able to grow and be challenged as an individual. I have made so many connections and cannot wait to see what my classmates and future colleagues accomplish in the future!”

Maria Andrade

LinkedIn | Instagram

Maria, a native of Colombia, earned her undergraduate degree in audiovisual communications from the University of Navarra in Pamplona, Spain. She has worked as a TV journalist and as a communications coordinator for the Institute of Political Science in Bogota.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“Because I have always been interested in finding different and new ways of telling stories. In other words, I came to Medill to learn how to tell them and to the MICS specialization to learn where to tell them. This specialization focuses on giving us tools in entrepreneurship, innovation, technology and design thinking, which I think are now a fundamental part of journalism, and MICS is one of the few places in the world these things are being taught by the best figures in the industry.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“My ideal future career would be to find a way to improve the quality of local news in my country, Colombia. That is a pretty hard goal for a country where journalists and news organizations have lost most of their prestige and credibility. However, if I’m someday able to effectively use the tools that Medill is giving me in my country, and I can somehow contribute to a healthier news environment, I will be fulfilled.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Wildly unexpected and fulfilling. I’m learning things that I’d never thought I would, such as coding, and I’ve found a way to merge two of my biggest interests: journalism and design. And the best part is that I’m learning them hand in hand with amazing teachers and students that are equally passionate about this world as I am.”

Robert O. Gross

LinkedIn

Robert graduated from the Ohio State University with a major in film studies, specializing in screenwriting. He co-founded a company that licenses toys, games and other products.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I was very interested in looking at media, innovation, and content strategy from a journalistic perspective so that’s why Northwestern’s specialization really stood out for me. I’ve always been interesting in content and media, especially film and television. While we’ve been really focused on journalism and publishers in that space, I hope to utilize my skills from the MICS specialization and become a better product designer, editor, and all-around thinker!”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I would love to be a content strategist or product designer for any media organization, but I have a very strong affinity for young companies or start-ups.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“I love the San Francisco based start-up, Kinda Funny, that was started by IGN journalists. I also have to be honest that I’ve loved digital Rotten Tomatoes and A.V. Club since I was in high school.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“It’s been lovely so far! I did the remote experience starting this past summer, and I’ve been in person for the fall quarter. My fellow MICS students, the faculty, and the people of Chicago that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting thus far have all been so warm and inviting that the experience feels like home. I look forward to continue learning from such amazing individuals, and I hope that our cohort can continue to remain in touch as both friends and Wildcats for many years to come!”

Justin Pasionek

LinkedIn

A Medill accelerated master’s student, Justin is director of a sleepaway camp for children whose parents have been diagnosed with cancer. He has held internships at U-Haul International and Kivvit, a communications strategy company in Chicago.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“I believe that the best way to approach content strategy is through a combination of data-driven design making and human centric thinking, and this specialization blends those two ideas perfectly.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“To work in marketing strategy so that I can combine my creative and analytical sides.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“After going through undergrad at Medill, I knew that I enjoyed it too much to leave the program.”

Sophia Adamucci

LinkedIn

Sophia graduated from Ithaca College with a bachelor’s degree in journalism. She was editor in chief of the student newspaper.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“While studying journalism in undergrad, I realized very quickly I didn’t want to be a reporter. However, I loved working in the fast-paced environment of my college newspaper, and I knew I still wanted to work in the journalism industry. I took a media innovation course my last semester of college, which inspired me to seek out a graduate program where I could further explore innovation and content strategy. When I learned about the MICS specialization, I knew it was my dream program.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“I am still an editor at heart, so I love working with content. My goal is to either work as a content strategist or an editor for a digital publication.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“I love The Cut for its witty headlines and clever culture reporting. I am also a fan of newsletters, and my favorite is “Hung Up” by journalist Hunter Harris — I laugh out loud every time I read it.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Busy! At the end of each week, I cannot believe how much I accomplished in a few days. I feel very lucky to be in a program with such supportive faculty and friendly, kind classmates.”

Gregory Svirnovskiy

Twitter: @gsvirnovskiy

Greg, an accelerated master’s student at Medill, has served as Web editor and sports editor for the Daily Northwestern. He has held internships at Vox.com and The Washington Monthly.

Why did you choose the MICS specialization?

“The MICS specialization feels primed for the 21st century, and though the skills I’ll gain in the next year are now considered specialized in media circles, they’ll soon be commonplace — essential to a media that keeps up with the rapid pace of technological developments in modern society.”

Future career and/or life goals?

“Reporting on child care and family policy at a Washington D.C. based newsroom, covering Congress and the White House.”

What is your favorite digital publication and why?

“I think Axios occupies a really important niche within the political journalism landscape. Today’s news consumers don’t often have the time to read full fledged stories complete with grafs from stakeholders. Aggregated story telling is a potential solve. And I love a good Mike Allen newsletter.”

Describe your experience at Medill so far?

“Three utterly life-changing years, characterized by trips to the Capitol and the White House with Medill on the Hill and the chance to write stories on disparate issues like childcare and voting inequities. At Medill, I went from Greg Svirnovskiy: sportswriter to Greg Svirnovskiy: all other things writer. I’m grateful for that shift.”

About the MSJ media innovation specialization

Learn more on the Medill website | Sign up for Medill Media Innovation newsletter

--

--

Richelle "Rich" Gordon
Medill Media Management & Leadership

Professor, media innovation & content strategy, Medill School, Northwestern U.