Why You Need to Listen to Black Women

GaneshSpace
Meditating On What Matters
3 min readOct 17, 2021

By Andrea Manning (she/her)

“The most disrespected person in America is the Black woman. The most unprotected person in America is the Black woman. The most neglected person in America is the Black woman.” — Malcolm X

Years ago, I heard the Malcom X quote declaring Black women as the most disrespected, unprotected, and neglected members of society. At the time, I didn’t understand what he meant. I felt that my voice was being heard and had the interviews and media features to back it up. I was consistently being highlighted for my work in climate activism and, even though my family and peers at school may not have understood it, I knew my message was being received.

But, as time progressed and waves of issues have occurred I’ve begun to understand more about the significance of this phrase. For one, it’s not enough if just one person is being heard. So often I’ve looked to those around my age who are consistently lauded as the “Voice of a Generation” in irritation. I feel spoken for and spoken over in the most lazy way possible when this happens. No one person can speak on behalf of an entire group, and when they do the nuance of experience and spectrum of beliefs are often glossed over.

Image from Jessica Felicio via UnSplash

When we say to listen to Black women, there is a plural present. And as much emphasis should be placed on the plurality of that statement as is placed on what should be done (listening) and who it should be done to (those who are Black).

It’s not enough to listen to the most privileged among us. We have different experiences and different needs than each other. Everyone needs to take the time to listen to all of the Black women in their lives and give platform to the Black women of the world.

But it’s also important to note that it’s not enough to just listen to Black women. If you notice, all of the words X listed were verbs. They were action-oriented and if we flip them around we can extract actions we should be taking towards Black women: respecting them, protecting them, and caring for them.

Finding ways to take action on this is the best way to show we care. There have been many times I’ve been given a “space” to speak on issues or address problems in my daily life, but no actions have been taken afterward. It’s frustrating to be given the space to speak but not given the power to affect change. Which is why it’s important to listen to Black women and then find ways to employ each of those three actions on a frequent and consistent basis.

Takeaways

  1. There is no “Black expert”: It’s important to listen to more than just one or two Black women you know or respect. There is no one expert or figurehead who can speak to the spectrum of opinions and beliefs held within the global community of Black women.
  2. Always couple listening with action.
  3. Respect, protect, and care for Black women.

Questions for Reflection

  • In what ways do I show up for the Black women in my life? (Challenge yourself to list at minimum 5)
  • How often do I find myself listening to those I know and have access to online?
  • When exposed to the opinion or beliefs of Black women, how often do I engage with them? Do I find myself moving past them quickly?
  • What actions have I taken in the past month that have been prompted by the words of a Black woman?
  • What is the last piece of media I have consumed by a Black woman? What did I take away from it?

About the author: Andrea Manning (she/her) is a writer based out of Atlanta, GA. You can find her reading in between shelves at the library or curled up on the couch watching Marvel movies. She doesn’t have social media, but you can reach her at aerdnamanning@gmail.com.

--

--

GaneshSpace
Meditating On What Matters

GaneshSpace is a community organization dedicated to pursuing equity through the practice of actionable mindfulness.