Are You Sabotaging Your Own Success?

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality
2 min readApr 12, 2023

I have often heard people say that we can be our own worst enemies when it comes to achieving success.

At first, I thought this was simply a motivational phrase meant to encourage hard work, leading to eventual success. After all, hard work should pay off, should it not?

Honestly, I did not think much of it when people said that we have everything we need to be successful and that ‘you’ are the only one standing between yourself and success.

Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

It was not until I started practising meditation and gained the ability to observe my own thoughts and emotions that I truly understood the power behind this statement.

I began to notice a strange pattern of high and low energy levels. It is natural for your emotions to fluctuate when you are working on a start-up, but I want to discuss the subtle ways our minds can distract us from important tasks, leading us to spend time on less significant activities.

There have been instances where I knew that I was wasting time on something unimportant, but I continued to do it anyway, even with pending urgent and pressing matters.

I can clearly see moments when I am not enjoying what I am doing but simply avoiding the pain of tackling the more challenging tasks on my plate.

In the past, I worked with a business performance coach who initially pointed out that we tend to avoid complex tasks and sabotage our own success.

As I mentioned earlier, it was not until I started meditating that I truly understood what he meant.

Photo by Tim Goedhart on Unsplash

I think I was mostly running on autopilot back then!

It still surprises me that I have not consistently implemented changes to improve my productivity, even after identifying the issue.

I think I have reached the realisation that identifying the reason behind something is only half of the story. What actions we take to actively address the identified issues can only provide the desired outcome.

Any thoughts?”

--

--

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality

I’m Jijo, a start-up founder with a vision of improving the quality of human life. Being a proud father & husband, I’m here to impart My Two Cents to the world.