My Friend Died and It Is a Blessing

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality
2 min readApr 12, 2023
Photo by Jacob Mejicanos on Unsplash

One of my close friends in India passed away yesterday. It was a painful experience, but I wished for it. His quality of life was poor. His hospital bills reached around £65,000, and his family struggled with fundraising and finances.

In his final days, he had food through a tube in his nose and caught chest infections often. At last, pneumonia took him.

I learned about his passing on a WhatsApp family group. I felt relief because doctors said he would not walk or be normal again. He had a brain tumour, and the surgery did not work. It went the opposite way.

A year ago, my colleague and close friend died from breast cancer. It happened so fast. She was diagnosed and passed away in three weeks. They gave her a month.

I thought about my life if a doctor gave me only four weeks. I cannot imagine that!

I am a funny man and make my wife and son laugh. I might act like Robin Williams in “The Angriest Man in Brooklyn” and do funny things. But would that work in real life?

My son is nearly three years old. Sometimes, I look at his innocent face and feel happy and sad. I know he is growing up, and the moment will not last forever.

The passing of my friends and relatives makes me better because I see them from a different perspective, and I know my time is also ticking.

I learned more about life’s value and saw how precious time is. Life will not always be sweet and beautiful.

Here’s what I learned

Structure life

Use your time wisely. Focus on what matters most to you and the people you love.

Be clear with your feelings

Share your emotions and thoughts with friends and family. Open communication helps build strong relationships.

Cherish moments

Enjoy every moment with your loved ones. Time is precious, so make the most of it.

Learn from others

The experiences of those around us can teach us valuable lessons about life, love, and loss.

We all have limited time, folks. Do what you can and cherish life.

--

--

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality

I’m Jijo, a start-up founder with a vision of improving the quality of human life. Being a proud father & husband, I’m here to impart My Two Cents to the world.