Meditation: A Journey Towards Self-Improvement and Perspective

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality
2 min readApr 10, 2023

I have more reasons to dislike myself than to love myself, but I still hang on.

Photo by Ramiro Pianarosa on Unsplash

One thing I struggle with is procrastination, especially when it comes to making important decisions. I have a strong desire to improve in all aspects of my life, such as:

  1. Becoming a successful entrepreneur by enhancing the quality of life in care homes.
  2. Maintaining good physical health through exercise, a balanced diet, and emotional well-being.
  3. Being a better father to my son, nurturing him, and guiding his perspective on life.
  4. Serving as a supportive partner to my wife.

Despite these aspirations, I often find myself unwilling to change!

This realisation is frustrating because I know that embracing change can lead to more positive outcomes in my life. Like many others, I struggle with procrastination.

At times, it seems I prefer to remain as I am, indulging in activities that provide instant gratification but may not be truly fulfilling. I realise how addicted I am to this “so-called life.”

However, I am also on a journey of self-awareness through meditation. It helps me see my body and spirit as separate entities, allowing me to deal with life’s challenges more effectively.

During meditation, I shift my focus and observe things from a different perspective. The more I practise daily meditation, the more relaxed and calm I feel about life.

From my experience, I have come to understand that genuine happiness and contentment are the outcomes of a disciplined way of life, and practising daily meditation can certainly help!

Meditation helps us focus our energy on the process of change, breaking free from bad habits, and committing to self-improvement, all from a completely different perspective. I am so fascinated by the power of meditation!

To me, anyone seeking happiness in their life should give meditation a try and experience how soothing and transformative it can be.

--

--

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Meditation and Spirituality

I’m Jijo, a start-up founder with a vision of improving the quality of human life. Being a proud father & husband, I’m here to impart My Two Cents to the world.