Want to learn to slow down? Set yourself a reminder

Bodhi
Meditation on the go
1 min readMar 13, 2018

It’s not easy to stop and refocus when you’re busy, but here’s one way that technology can actually help.

“It makes me pause and come back to the present moment” Photo: Christin Hume | Unsplash

What I try to do in any moment when I see myself getting swept away by what I’m doing, is just to pause. I’ve tried different things over the years, like having a gong or some kind of reminder on my computer that goes off every 15 minutes or every hour. It makes me pause and come back to the present moment instead of being lost in all my thoughts. Just for a split second I drop everything that I’m doing and suddenly the things that have been going crazy in my mind will settle, even just a little bit. Maybe I have a million things to do, but I just stop for a second. Then I can see more clearly, “OK, I need to do this first.”

Gill, from Australia

--

--

Bodhi
Meditation on the go

Advice from leading teachers, meditators, scientists and other experts on how to bring a clear mind and an open heart into everything you do. beingbodhi.com