Get over addictions with these affirmations

Riya Tyagi
Meditative Mind
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2022

An addiction is a persistent malfunction of the reward, motivation, and memory systems in the brain. It has to do with how your body needs a drug or habit, especially if it leads to an obsessional or compulsive desire for the “reward” and a lack of regard for the repercussions. Addictions are one of the hardest things one has to face in their life.

While you try to get over the addiction, you can face certain withdrawals that can make you feel lost.

For people and families looking to make positive changes, words may often be a major incentive. According to those who have started along the road to sobriety, positive recovery phrases are crucial to the process. Every event, life experience, struggle, and adversity is distinct since everyone comes from a totally diverse background. There are certain affirmations that can help you move on toward a better life and boost your confidence in getting rid of addictions.

1. I am the only thing in control of my life.

2. I deserve to be sober.

3. I forgive myself for what I did under the influence.

4. My life is free of drugs.

5. I can look inside myself as a source of joy.

6. I am stronger than temptation.

7. I am proud of myself.

8. I am in control.

9. I respect my body and my loved ones.

10. Every day, in every way, I am getting better.

11. I can and I will.

12. I will be a better me.

13. I am worthy of great things.

14. I like the person I’m becoming.

15. I am loved.

Affirmations are statements that you will make that focus on what you will do rather than what you won’t do. By repeating positive affirmations, you may train your brain to think more optimistically rather than more pessimistically.

For instance, consider how it will improve you as a person if you wish to avoid spending time with negative individuals. Say “I only spend time with individuals who encourage me” instead of “I won’t allow other people to bring me down.”

Keep it brief (but emotional)

Every time you recite your affirmation, you should feel something. It should be succinct, memorable, but also emotional and intense.

--

--