Why I love Medium

I swear, it’s not just cause I’m procrastinating

Jim_vill
2 min readDec 5, 2013

I’m relatively new to Medium. And by relative I mean extremely new to Medium.

I never had a Twitter account, I had instagram for a total of a day, and the only thing I felt the need to check every day aside from my e-mail was Facebook. I was never HUGE into social media, but I never discouraged others from using it, and I could sometimes see why people used it so much…it just didn’t interest me for a while.

One reason people told me why they used all kinds of social media wasn’t necessarily to connect with friends, or have a bunch of followers, etc. Some told me it was a way of expressing themselves. I never liked the idea of expressing myself, whether it be on the internet or in the real world. I am very self-conscious, and I would never want anyone I know stumbling upon a personal blog I wrote.

Then I found Medium, through Facebook incidentally, where someone posted a blog about a man who openly wears nail polish (great blog by the way :) ). I liked the way Medium looked, and after reading certain posts I noticed a maturity in everyone’s blogs. It wasn’t to shoot people down or complain without proof. Everyone has ideas and posts them without judgment. That’s what I’m trying to do here….sorry if I don’t get the point of Medium.

This is my way of expressing myself and understanding my ideas, just like my friends do on Tumblr, Twitter, or other sites I’ve probably never heard of. I write them with a fake name (my name isn’t really Hans Coil...lame name I know), and I don’t have a picture of my face. Here I can write without caring if others hate it, because I like it and I’m safe if I hide behind my friend Hans. Here I can present my true ideas that I sometimes cannot tell my friends, because sometimes my ideas can sometimes come off as narcissistic, naïve, or as if I am trying to impress the person I am telling.

I can write my ideas freely, since there’s no way I would be trying to impress you if I don’t even know you’re reading! It’s my own way expressing my true thoughts without filtering ideas.

That’s why I love Medium.

--

--

Jim_vill

I’m selfish in that I write to organize my own thoughts anonymously. I publish here in hopes that by reading you gain something.