New Year Blues…

Arun Keepanasseril
 Medium for Poetry
1 min readJan 2, 2015

I woke up to a ‘new’ year to find
everything around me reeking of sweat from the ‘old’
On my first trip down the street the sun’s rays were no less harsher
Ah, may be it all changes by the first sunset, I consoled myself
And waited for the sun down
Alas, the moon too looked jaded and familiar
Much like the leftover curry from the overnight bash
People greeting each other with surreal enthusiasm
Smiles, handshakes and gifts exchanged
And then….back to the same old beliefs, superstitions and hatred
Only the vitriol a wee bit stronger
Resolutions to be nice, followed by resolute animosity
Do I know you any more than the night before?
Do you see me in a different light?
Do you understand me?
The laptop freezes still?
Huh
Life as usual
New Year!!!

--

--

Arun Keepanasseril
 Medium for Poetry

Lives in Hamilton,Ont, Project Manager by the day, researcher,wannabe writer&musician by night,dreamer all day and night