What’s in your pocket?

The Medium Writing Prompt
2 min readOct 24, 2014

Scroll down to the bottom to read all the entries.

Why are you carrying that around? Where did it come from? What’s it for? What’s the significance?

  • The key to my grandmother’s house
  • The letter I’m scared to open
  • $15,000 in cash
  • A baby joey, if you’re a kangaroo

(No one is looking, so it doesn’t actually have to be in your pocket right now. It can also be a purse or backpack. This is a writing prompt, not a trial)

Okay. Right now in my wallet in my pocket I have a raffle ticket. A generic one, the kind you’d buy at a party store. I got this ticket walking out of Jazz Fest in New Orleans. If you’ve never been, the surrounding neighborhood is a vibrating maze of front lawn parking lots, impromptu parades, and porch parties. I wound up with my best friends at one called “Everything’s a Dollar,” where everything was a dollar: beer, red beans and rice, sodas, jambalaya. All of it. They were having a raffle, and I bought a ticket. I don’t know if I won, as I left before the drawing. This is what the ticket looked like:

I follow the rules, and the ticket says to keep it, so I’ve kept it. For 12 years. I’m waiting 3 more years to whip it out in front of my friends, and hopefully they’ll laugh.

Hit the button that says “Write a response” at the bottom of this page, and tell us what’s in your pocket!

This contest is now closed. But that doesn’t mean you can’t keep writing. Please do!

Congratulations to our winner Barbara-Anne van Wyk with her story “If I Go Back, They’ll Beat Me.”

(And remember it is always great to leave an author notes. Don’t write alone.)

--

--