Dawn Of The Dead

Does it offend you, yeah?

Patrick
Mediums on Medium
Published in
7 min readSep 21, 2013

--

Hello, my name is Patrick John Coleman!Follow and Friend onGoogle Plus,Facebook,Twitter,Instagram,The Empath Community,HIGH EXISTENCE,GoodReads, and you can get copies of any of my books directly fromLulu.com,iBookstore,Amazon,Barnes & Noble or ask your local bookseller to order or stock

I not only see dead people, I have conversations with them. I talk with things almost older than God. Many years ago when I sought the path to enlightenment I didn’t actually figure on what it would be like to be actually enlightened. Holy Shit!

It seemed too esoteric and bizarre. That one day I would understand “All that is” and let me tell you…there are no words to explain it. And I keep making these ham-fisted attempts and it’s not working. Will this work? Shit, I dunno.

"Dawn of the Dead" is the fourth single by Does It Offend You, Yeah? taken from the band's debut album You Have No Idea What You're Getting Yourself Into.

Today I was told I was a psychic researcher and not just a psychic. I got a promotion. And how this all works is the most mysterious and awesome thing. So if my words aren’t working, then I have to use others. People have come before me.

Like the man that walked before me, who said
“Dawn of the dead came to warn me, I’m afraid”
You could try again but they’d ignore you, and me
I won’t sit down and say, “That will do,” I’m afraid
Today I stood and walked away
I’m never coming back this way
I’ve got my things, I’m here to stay
I’ll try to walk another way

Illnesses caused by ghosts are a real thing. Sorry if that offends your intellect. It was ridiculous to me, too. Most of the the things the Spirit World tells me are ridiculous. And much of my life the past few weeks has been “Really?!? If I say that out loud I am guaranteeing myself a one-way ticket to a psychiatric hospital. Mermaids? Atlantis? Give me a break!”

From THE BOOK ON MEDIUMS c.1874

Early on in my psychic initiation I was told that music was the language of souls. That artists are inspired to write songs for whatever reason and that iTunes is nothing more than a Tarot deck. That every song is a communication from the Spirit World. And as I began to decode this mystery “soul language” all the songs I thought I knew took on a bigger meaning.

Look at this screenshot. This is my tea leaves. This is me consulting the bones. Look what it reveals. Examine it.

But wait, there’s more….

What did Theresa Senft say in her keynote? You can read the entire thing here (and I wish she would post it on Medium) but for now it is here. And you MUST READ IT.

But if you don’t, the following are some highlights and some lowlights.

When critics rail against “shameless exhibitionism” on social media these days, I find myself confused. Besides sociopaths, is anyone actually shameless? People call me exhibitionist, but I’ve spent nearly every moment of my life negotiating with one form of shame or another.When I was young, I was diagnosed with a mental illness that seemed render everything about me difficult for people to manage. Once, I joked I was going to give parents t-shirts that read, “What now?”

But wait, there’s more.

For years, I was the girl who was just too much. I thought I was alone in this, but as I grew up, I saw others struggling:other kids, other women, queers, people of color, people practicing religions that weren’t about Jesus, old people, blind people, dyslexic people. So many that I began to think: Maybe we were the majority?

We are the majority, heads up.

I’m ashamed my actions won’t be seen as acts of solidarity, but as forms of self-promotion, and I’ve studied Internet life way too long to believe all publicity is good publicity. I am an educator in a private university, andI have a public persona to consider. I’m no longer in my twenties (or even thirties), I no longer spend every hour of my day online, and to be perfectly honest, I don’t know if I have the stamina needed to counter public harassment or abuse for my thoughts, the way that many people I admire online do. These are real worries, and yet, I know for a fact that at times, something I’ve written could have been a lifeline for someone feeling desperately misunderstood, alone, or beleaguered by authorities. I know, because at times in my life, other people’s words worked this way from me.

Last night I talked someone out of suicide via text message. And in the midst of my psychic initiation a very good friend of mine died from a drug overdose. As I reeled from the grief and pain at the same time “publicly” having to go through something that should have been “private” because for all I know “Eric Durchholz” had died and I was a new soul in his body. It didn’t make sense to me. None of it made sense. I get this message on my Facebook:

And she was right. I am much more. But I almost killed myself that night because of what she posted on Facebook as I talked to things almost as old as God. That is a true thing and it scared me to death. What has happened to us as people? And how do we fix it?

Theresa Senft:

“That was brave,” is a comment I get a fair amount. As if when I write, I’m only writing about myself.I don’t think that’s true. I have a community online and off, we constitute a materiality, and in this political moment, our views matter. True, we have been bred to be ashamed and afraid, but for those of us who feel ready, the time has come to feel the fear and do it anyway, as the self-help books say. It’s time to spread our thoughts online as if the lives of others depended on them. Because for all we know, they do.

I could have chosen death. Even now as I cycle through these things and entities I can choose it. There is nothing stopping me other than love. Always love. I could kill myself right now and this story would have such a “sick” and “sad” ending. But I am staying alive for you.

Yes, you.

Because a lot of ancient things have arranged for you to be reading these words right now. Our eternal souls arranged it. This little meeting of the minds. I exist because you exist and I am done being ashamed of my gifts to see things that others cannot see. “Shit bitch, I’m a psychic!” I say in jest to the ones who get weirded out by the fact that I pulled from the street before a bus ran them over.

True.

I choose life.

Not dead yet.

Follow and Friend on Google Plus, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, The Empath Community, HIGH EXISTENCE, GoodReads, and you can get copies of any of my books directly from Lulu.com, iBookstore, Amazon, Barnes & Noble or ask your local bookseller to order or stock.

ALL THINGS GO: How I Became A Shaman

In April of 2013, Author Eric Durchholz had a near-death experience followed by a soul transfer. As a result, he died and was replaced by a new consciousness named Patrick John Coleman. A new soul in a full-grown body… much to the confusion of his friends and family. As the new age concept of a walk-in soul is relatively unknown to the mainstream, a growing army of walkins are coming to this planet in a “Divine Invasion” to set this polluted and hateful world back on a course towards peace. As Coleman struggled to find out where he came from and what happened to Eric, he turned to the great psychic researchers Edgar Cayce, Jane Roberts and Esther Hicks for answers. In doing so he found he had uncanny connections to them while also uncovering a plot by his family to keep him silent. The book also includes several hours of specially produced video footage including reenactments of key events linked via QR Codes so keep your smartphone handy and get ready for a mindbending, soul-expanding thrill ride. To Purchase, click here

Unlisted

--

--

Patrick
Mediums on Medium

Spiritual Recovery Coach. Shamanic Practitioner. Sobriety First.