Where do I go today?

Cedric Cheng
Meer Crunch
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2016

It’s a rhetorical question that a lot of people have but in term of seeing places you haven’t been to, there are many. But the reality, unless you have a money to burn and no worries plus a passport that is accepted pretty much everywhere, you really have to choose what to see and where to go.

Here’s my top five places around the world (even in the U.S. where home is) that I hope to see with my family.

  1. Japan. I’ve been to Japan five times but never saw it. Why? It was a stop over. I’ve seen Tokyo from the air and of course Tokyo Narita Airport many times. But to really visit and partake in the food, the culture, the feel and the experience of Japan. From Tokyo, one of the world biggest cities to visiting some of the villages. Lots to see.
  2. Russia. Specifically, St. Petersburg and then Moscow. Primarily, the architecture and history of Russia. It’s varied and perhaps a little complicated. I look at the Russians as a unique people in Europe. Somewhat disconnected from the rest of the continent and willing to go it’s own way. But the amazing architecture is awesome in pictures, but to see it for real, that would be an experience.
  3. Alaska. Via a cruise ship. Never been to Alaska but from what I hear from people who have cruised to there, it’s gorgeous. Seeing the natural wonders of Alaska is something worthy of seeing. Just have to decide which season to go.
  4. Israel. Pretty much the holy lands. Imagine stepping in the same steps as Jesus Christ and witness the where and why he did his ministry. Plus it’s the convergence of Judaism and Islam. The cultural aspects are what I want to experience. As a Christian, it also is a pilgrimage.
  5. The Deep South of the US. I’ve have been to many part of my home here in the US. But not really in the deep southern part of the country. Sure I’ve been to Arkansas. Passed through Texas. And been to Florida. And I even been to Virginia including Richmond. But not Louisiana, specifically New Orleans. Never been to Georgia (except Atlanta’s airport), Mississippi or Alabama. It’s a different world there. Like many parts of the US, it’s got it’s own flavor and uniqueness. Having been born in the midwest, raised on the west coast, traveled through the east coast, the plains and nearer to the south where Oklahoma and the top half of Texas is, I feel touching down in this part of the country will give me a greater understanding of my country as a whole. And yes, I’ve been in Hawaii!

That’s my top five. It’s about culture, it’s about experience, it’s about getting to know our world better. Whether foreign countries or domestic locales, it’s good to see what is out there. We may even discover that we aren’t so different after all. What’s your top 5?

--

--