Thanks to reselling on Meesho, fashion obsessed, computer engineer Sindhuja MS can now dream big — of opening her own dream boutique

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
5 min readJul 22, 2020

Sindhuja MS comes from a quintessential middle class Malayali family from Kerala where her parents had a straightforward dream etched out for her — that of becoming an engineer. Unfortunately for Sindhuja, who dreamed of being a fashion designer, this did not align with her own interests or desires for the future, but like many Indian children she too gave into familial pressure.

But, her tryst with fashion was far from over after she embarked on a journey to become an engineer. During the last year of college, in 2018, she came across an ad for Meesho. Sindhuja realised that her desire to curate fashion can be fulfilled as a Meesho reseller and she hasn’t looked back ever since. Now a successful reseller, Sindhuja’s next goal is to own a physical boutique and we know that this goal is not too far away.

Sindhuja’s family did not want her to be a fashion designer, but is happy with her flourishing Meesho career.

Read on to learn all about Sindhuja’s journey with Meesho:

Life Before Meesho

Growing up in Kerala’s Palakkad district, I always dreamed of becoming a fashion designer but my parents were not all that supportive of my dream. My parents chose the field of engineering for me and so I pursued B.Tech in Computer Science from Nehru College of Engineering and Research centre. It was during my final year of college — towards the end of 2018 — that I first saw a Facebook ad about Meesho reselling.

I decided to give it a go since owning a boutique has been my passion, and Meesho gave me an opportunity to do it virtually. While Instagram and Facebook helped me reach customers beyond my network of friends, WhatsApp was and still is the primary platform I use for my business. I had also experimented with Tik Tok until the recent ban. This is where I share Meesho products with my friends from different stages of life.

Sindhuja’s mother-in-law is a supporter of her reselling career and encourages her to prioritise her customers.

It worked out pretty well for me, and so I continued to be a reseller after college, well into my first job as an English trainer at Accenta Education, Chalakudy, and even now as a newly married woman who was uprooted to Kozhikode district as of six months ago. My in-laws are extremely supportive of my Meesho career. My mother-in-law, in fact, tells me to focus on my customers even if I am in the middle of a chore at home, so I feel encouraged to keep doing this work.

Jab I became a reseller

Some of my earliest customers were my school and college friends, who were excited to support me and buy from me. I received regular orders from them, despite some lull in the business every now and then, their loyalty helped my business flourish.

Now, even my parents are extremely supportive of my decision to become a Meesho reseller, especially given the current economic climate brought on by the lockdown. In fact, my Meesho revenue has been a great boon and helps me with the day to day expenses for the house.

Especially with the lockdown, Sindhuja and her family looks at her reselling career as a boon.

Top tip to run a business

Give an offer when you can, or entice your customers with limited editions of products. Attractive offers such as buy one get one free or weekend offers, have all worked wonderfully for me.

Even if you do not make that much of a difference in the price, there is a special attraction to products that are on discount. In my experience, these offers will distract customers from the price of the product itself and inspire them to focus on the offer instead.

Meri Mission Rise (Connect)

I was not very familiar with the Meesho community until recently, but it is after I got freer post the lockdown that I have had a chance to interact on the Community platform. It wasn’t until I saw a post in Malayalam that I realised that I too am part of this community and tried engaging and that is how I found myself speaking at Mission Rise Connect.

Being on Mission Rise Connect has been one of the most enriching experiences of my life. So many people have seen the video and have reached out to me asking to help them become resellers as well.

Next Meesho milestone

At Meesho, I became the owner of a virtual boutique with zero investment, and now I want to take those profits and invest in a physical boutique — that is still my dream. I don’t want to trouble or request anyone’s help to make my dream a reality, and now, I know that I can do this on my own thanks to Meesho.

Learn all about Mission Rise Connect, the new, improved and digital Mission Rise+

Find out why we believe Meesho reseller Kanchana Kirubakaran is the everyday superwoman we love

Are you following us on social media yet? You might want to head over to Life at Meesho’s

Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn pages if you are a fan of fun and positivity.

--

--