The Beginning of my Vincentian Story

Carolina Lopez
Meet Me at the Mission
6 min readMay 9, 2018

During my two years at community college, I dedicated my time to simply attending classes and going to work. Repeat that cycle every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday (my preferred schedule at the time). As a freshmen, I believed that I was being a proactive college student by simply doing the bare minimum that any college student should always do: attend classes. Going to work also fulfilled another duty of mine that I felt was important. By having a part-time job in college, I had enough money for a rainy day, personal care, and leisure without asking my parents. I was feeling like an adult, but I was not taking it upon myself to engage in adult activities. Outside my commitment to my classes and work, I simply did nothing. I wasn’t enrolled in any on campus extra curricular activities, nor was I actively involved in something that I was passionate about. To put things in simpler terms, I was not fulfilling my own personal mission. Why attend school if I’m not developing critical life skills? I knew that my old habits needed to change and that I needed to emerge myself into a community. It didn’t have to be the College of DuPage’s community, but any other outlet that would allow for me to grow into a young college adult.

At the time I used to work for a community bank in the Northwestern suburbs and it’s primary focus is on giving back to the community through their initiative programs, community sponsored events, and giving back through volunteering. I then decided that this would be a good opportunity to sign up and volunteer for the company’s Annual Shred Day, which takes in customers from all over the Itasca area and other neighborhood towns and process their financial documents in a safe manner. Taking this leap was a transition for me since I was used to just going to work (clocking in) and leaving (clocking out). Through volunteering, I was able to speak with other workers from different departments and have an organic conversation about whatever. I could not believe I didn’t do this sooner. The ability to speak with upper management outside of work changed my whole perspective in my position at work. Once December hit, our company had a Christmas party and it was a formal event. Sitting next to the company’s president helped me feel more comfortable since I was able to communicate with him at the bank’s shred day. That moment forward, I realized the importance of putting yourself out there in ways that may make you feel out of your element, in order to gain a better return.

My bank teller co-workers and I celebrating the bank’s annual Christmas party

On September 7th of 2016, I began my first year at DePaul University as a transfer student coming from a community college. I was excited. Words could not be express my eagerness of finally attending a four year university in the city, and even better: at DePaul University. For me, I was excited to finally become a part of something great. I knew that I needed to become an active member on campus at DePaul and I needed to figure out ways that would benefit me in the long run both professionally and personally. I also knew that living away from home would present me with different challenges but I knew that I would need to overcome them. That’s the whole point of becoming a adult, right? I remember visiting my apartment again before fulling moving in with my family one summer afternoon. Skies were clear and blue, you could see miles into the distance. I was able to capture that moment. Whenever I feel like I’m struggling or going through challenges (in class or outside of class) I always reflect back on that picture. I’ve come along way to just not take advantage of the how much as a city, Chicago can offer, and DePaul as well.

Visiting my Lincoln Park apartment’s rooftop for the first time back in 2016

A memorable email that I received before actually starting the academic year on campus was from my now colleague and friend that included the words, “I am your STARS Peer Mentor”. I was hooked. I’ve never been reached out before on an academic level and was immediately fascinated by the idea of already becoming apart of something on DePaul’s very own campus. STARS (Students Together are Reaching Success) is a peer mentoring program out of the office of Multicultural Student Success. Being actively involved in the program (meeting one-on-one with my mentor), attending any workshops, and taking on her advice put me in the right direction for success here at DePaul. Towards my spring quarter of my junior year, I was able to apply for the STARS peer mentor position and become a mentor to first year students on campus. This transition and leadership experience has been my pivotal transition here at DePaul University thus far.

My colleagues and I posing for our picture before our volunteer event on campus:
St. Vincentian Service Day.

As a student, and mentor, I believe the STARS Peer Mentoring program has allowed me to flourish in ways that I never thought I could. Involving myself in this program reflected the Vincentian Mission. STARS ability to respond to the needs of other students through educational and public services, and through the leadership of the mentees, embodied the true mission of being a Vincentian.

My experiences working as a STARS Peer Mentor cannot be duplicated with any other position I’ve had so far. The personal relationships that I have been able to harvest with my mentees, colleagues, and coordinators have been one of a kind. This position is great regardless of your major. This position really helps to branch out your transferrable skills in ways that you would not have imagined. As I plan on graduating this upcoming June and entering the workforce, I will always reflect on my peer-to-peer mentoring events and seeing how I can apply those experiences to my new role in society.

With all these great turning points in my life, I must thank the people around me who have been supporting me since the beginning. Family is always everything and their constant aid has allowed me to grow more into the woman that I am today. Joining Meet Me at the Mission has allowed me to explore what it truly means to be a Vincentian leader by reflecting back on my own personal and unique background.

My mother, brother, grandfather and cousin at a White Sox’s game

I also began to reflect on the ways I could give thanks to the people that have encouraged me to pursue a greater education here at DePaul. All around campus (both Lincoln Park and Loop) offer students the opportunity to give thanks and write a the names of who you wish for prayer. Without any hesitation, I immediate wrote down “Familia Lopez, Meza, and Gutierrez”. This includes my immediate family, and my extended family from the U.S, and from Mexico. I will never forget where my family came from, and to always take the opportunity to give thanks. This is just the beginning of my Vincentian Story, and I plan on carrying it on wherever life takes me.

I wrote my family member’s names for prayer

--

--