#1

Shambhobi Bhattacharya
Meet Sam
1 min readMar 9, 2018

--

Hot Summer Eve, KGP. Circa 2016.

Here I am writing the thing I’m most afraid to write

Today I chanced upon your words in this worn out piece of paper

From the time you had written to me

In a hot summer eve in Bengal, while we footsied below the wooden table.

I quickly crumbled up the paper

Wanted to shy away of this very existence of your memory

Scared to start that familiar train of thoughts

Taking me down platforms black and white, complete with long talks, even longer walks.

I see you here and there, from one tab to the other

I see every muscle, every nuance, every new shirt

And I wish, oh I wish I could say slip in a few words, reach out

For it was and is my favorite part of what I had, we had, Beautiful. Unhurt.

All of it felt like this 2 min ad, between channels I didn’t notice to see

A sudden desire to haste through something I couldn’t point out

But now that I see your perfect cursives in this worn out piece of paper

It was only me, only me who couldn’t understand this part of me, this part of you;

I’d left ajar.

Sam.

--

--

Shambhobi Bhattacharya
Meet Sam

20 something Indian. Building a new age learning platform for college kids. Ex-Manufacturing Manager @ Unilever. KGPian Mech Undergrad. She/Her