An Inspiring Conversation with Michael Beirut

Rob Johnston
Meet the Creatives
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2023

When I was just leaving college, I had a lot of uncertainty about my future and what I wanted to pursue. I had a passion for design and wanted to make it my career, but I was unsure of how to get started. I decided to take matters into my own hands and start a podcast called Meet the Creatives.

One of my first interviews was with legendary designer Michael Beirut. I was so enamored with how patient and cool he was when chatting with me. He gave me the opportunity to go in and have him review my portfolio at Pentagram, which was a truly unforgettable experience.

MIT Media Lab posters: Visual identity for the innovative, interdisciplinary research laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Designed by Michael Bierut and Aron Fay, who were awarded a TDC Certificate of Typographic Excellence for this identity. It was also TDC61 judge, Mike Rigby’s, Judges Choice.

When I showed Michael my portfolio, it was very clunky and unpolished. Despite this, he was able to very easily articulate what was great about it and how I could reach my full potential if I worked really hard.

The New York Times building main identification sign design by Bierut.

I recently have been feeling discouraged about pursuing a career in design. But reflecting back on experiences like this with Michael makes me realize that I need to keep after it and that if someone like him could see potential in me, then I need to see it in myself and keep going. 🏃🏻

#design #pentagram #branding #michaelbeirut

--

--

Rob Johnston
Meet the Creatives

Photographer. Designer. DJ. Host of Meet the Creatives.