No More UI/UX Developing — Now What?

Luthfi Sulaiman
MeetU Engineering
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2018

Now that we are in the closing of Software Engineering Project (finally..), it was a bittersweet ride though. Actually the title was clickbait, developing UI/UX was an endless process so it’s still going on but not really on that of a priority anymore hehe.

So What Do I Do Now?

Now that UI/UX Developing is not really a priority anymore, now my current job in MeetU Engineering is 1/4 Frontend Engineer and 3/4 Quality Assurance Tester. Yes, I am now a Beta Tester for this application. Quality Assurance Testers, perform a vital role. They test, tune, debug and suggest the detailed refinements that ensure the quality of the product.

QA Tester Responsibilities include:

  • Reviewing and analyzing system specifications
  • Executing test scripts and reviewing results
  • Reporting and documenting technical issues

In MeetU, I’ve been doing some QA Testing on some nearly-finished backlogs. There have been several funny things happened on testings, such as unscrollable view, weird languages on commit messages (such as pucking. I’m talking to you, Ayaz), crashed on opened, and many other funny things that happened in these past few weeks.

Yes, Ayaz. You Are Swearing.

Not only I found some funny things while testing the finished backlog, I also found amazing insights (and some swear words, also some initials) given from the entirety member of MeetU Engineering.

Conclusion

Backend is the past, Frontend is the future — Ayaz, 2018

A joke has been said by the Hacker. So many things happened in this Sprint, be there a more structured team dynamic or even maximised every member’s potential. I am enjoying myself more here because as a team member, now I know where my potential is. It’s really okay to be a QA Tester, before we deploy to user. Because we must test it as a developer point of view.

To be quite honest, in this Sprint we worked a lot faster than the previous sprint, because we now maximised our work based on our potential and personal preferences. Such as:

  • Ayaz and Ricky handled the Backend Stuffs
  • I handled UI-related stuff and some Frontend Stuff
  • Stephen, Grace and Andre handled the Frontend Stuffs

With works like this, we finally got the momentum we were looking for in this hellhole. We worked faster, we communicate better, we now our problems related to our works, although some steps down happened a few times but the numbers have decreased very drastically.

Last, but not least. Thank you PPL for your amazing 3 sprints, it has been an amazing educational ride for me and my MeetU Engineers. It was one HELL OF A RIDE! I’ve enjoyed (and tiring) this wonderful opportunity while it lasted. This is Luthfi Aulia Sulaiman, Former Lead UI/UX Designer, now Lead QA Tester, resigning next week. Over and Out.

*Drops Mic*

--

--