Every Book I Read in 2016

David Grigg
Megatheriums for Breakfast
2 min readJan 4, 2017

Here is every book I read last year, in order. Thirty-six books, well short of the target of 50 I had set myself. I hope to do better in 2017.

The books I read in 2016

Here’s a simple text list. I’ve put in links for those books which I’ve reviewed here so far on Megatheriums for Breakfast. As you can see, I don’t review everything I read by any means. But I may well add to these reviews over time.

The Shepherd’s Crown: Terry Pratchett
The Man in the High Castle: Philip K. Dick
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold: John Le Carré
Railsea: China Mievelle
Deathworld: Harry Harrison
The Big Short: Michael Lewis
A Beautiful Mind: Sylvia Nasar
The Spectacles of Mr Cagliostro: Harry Stephen Keeler
Bound to Please : Michael Dirda
The Girl Next Door: Ruth Rendell
Descartes Bones: Russell Shorto
Barchester Towers: Anthony Trollope
La Bella Lingua: Diane Hales
Only You Can Save Mankind: Terry Pratchett
Imprimatur: Mondali & Sorti
Fuzzy Nation: John Scalzi
The Lunar Men: Jenny Uglow
The Road to Little Dribbling: Bill Bryson
Just My Type : Simon Garfield
The Late Scholar: Jill Paton Walsh
Leviathan Wakes : James S. A. Corey
Children of God : Mary Doria Russell
The Hunt for Vulcan: Thomas Levenson
The Halloween Tree: Ray Bradbury
Doctor Thorne: Anthony Trollope
The Man Who Couldn’t Stop: David Adam
Dandelion Wine: Ray Bradbury
Europe in Autumn: Dave Hutchinson
Europe at Midnight: Dave Hutchinson
Europe in Winter: Dave Hutchinson
Johnny and the Bomb: Terry Pratchett
Johnny and the Dead: Terry Pratchett
A Murder of Quality: John Le Carre
The Sense of an Ending : Julian Barnes
Caliban’s War: James S.A.Corey
Fortunately the Milk: Neil Gaiman

Of these 36 books, 27 were fiction, 9 were non-fiction. I’d like to increase the number of non-fiction books I read in the coming year.

And of these 36, the formats were:

11 Hardbacks
8 Paperbacks
14 E-books
3 Audiobooks

I’ve decided that although I’m happy enough to read novels in ebook format, I seriously prefer a hardcopy book for non-fiction. This is mainly because of the awkwardness of things like footnotes, diagrams and tables in ebook format.

--

--

David Grigg
Megatheriums for Breakfast

David Grigg is a retired software developer who lives in Melbourne, Australia. He is now concentrating on his first love, writing fiction.