Two poems

Mehfil
Mehfil
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2020

By Bobbi Sinha-Morey

Life in Candle Wood

Wrapped in the stillness
of a warm sleepy room,
visited by a memory attached
to a burgundy dress, I look
back on a life I knew not long
ago and now I’ve carried this
memory to my new home
where I get to take long walks
by the snowy river, sew at my
leisure in the solace of night,
mornings sipping my chai,
examining a pattern of blue
eyelets on the lip of my teacup,
pearls round my neck my
mother prized but never wore.
A world I’d been graced with
I’ve come to love, its beauty
and friendships; letters I’d write
to my aunt by the glow of an
oil lamp, not choosing electricity
or candlelight, telling her the fine
pleasures of my day-to-day life,
a reality I could’ve only dreamed
of before and now it’s mine for
the rest of my life.

The Quiet Hours

In the quiet hours when
all was still I peeked up
at the skylight, the misty
shoulders of morning slowly
giving way to the circle of
blue sky — so tiny to begin
with, growing wider above,
and beyond the wet windows
of my small home, my soul
enveloped silently as a leafless
tree when a sudden realization
had come like a stone dropping
right through the center of
me, a shining miracle spilling
the power of its glow all over
me, ending my sadness, the tears
I’d spent three days ago, and
only half a minute passed when
a message came in and I saw
her name; she was alive and
my spirit exalted, gracing
the heavens, joy endlessly
bursting inside of me.

About the poet:

Bobbi Sinha-Morey’s poetry has appeared in a wide variety of places such as Plainsongs, Pirene’s Fountain, The Wayfarer, Helix Magazine, Miller’s Pond, The Tau, Vita Brevis, Cascadia RisingReview, Old Red Kimono, and Woods Reader. Her books of poetry are available at Amazon.com and her work has been nominated for Best of the Net in 2015 and the Best of the Net 2018 Anthology Awards hosted by Sundress Publications. Her website is located at http://bobbisinhamorey.wordpress.com.

--

--