ADRIAN FERGUSON

I’m currently working on creating a vision board for 2018. If I can see it, I can achieve it.

Melanin Habits
Melanin Habits
Published in
5 min readFeb 21, 2018

--

Who are you? I am Adrian Ferguson, a Dreamer and a Doer. My hometown is Fairfax Station, Virginia.

I value my family, my friends, and my faith.

When people ask what do I do, I tell them I provide a place and a platform for people to create, collaborate, and perform.

Our website is www.artofnoizedmv.com and you can connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

QUICKLY DESCRIBE YOUR MORNING ROUTINE.

“Just wakin’ up in the morning gotta thank God! I dunno but today seems kinda odd” If I could program my 15-year old alarm clock to recite these iconic Ice Cube lyrics I would, but at 4:30am, all I get is constant beeping and static radio.

I’ve had the same alarm clock since my Freshman year of college and it has been reliable so getting a “modern” one is not a priority for me. Once I’ve had my fill of loud muffled noise I turn off my alarm, put on my glasses, and find the strength to sit up and get out of the bed. Once out of bed I walk to the bathroom where I begin to fully wake up and start my day.

PHOTO: WILSAR CREATIVE

Just like most male humans in the morning, I do the 3s’, two of which are shower and shave. I use the time in the shower to plan my day and meditate. Once out of the shower, I begin to choose my outfit for the day.

I’m not one of those people who pick out their outfit the night before. Somehow my socks match and it all comes together to make a unique fashion statement. Once dressed, I kiss my wife and son, wish them a good day, and I’m off to the races.

HOW OFTEN DO YOU CHANGE YOUR MORNING ROUTINE?

I’ve lost count how many times my routine has changed. I believe routines should always be re-evaluated and amended as needed.

DO YOU USE AN ALARM OR A SPECIFIC APP TO HELP YOU WAKE UP?

Yes. I’ve had the same alarm clock since my Freshman year of college.

DO YOU EAT BREAKFAST IN THE MORNING, IF SO, WHAT DO YOU TYPICALLY HAVE?

Yes, I eat breakfast every morning. I normally eat breakfast around 7:30. Breakfast for me consists of a bowl of oatmeal, fruit, and coffee.

PHOTO: WILSAR CREATIVE

WHAT IS THE FIRST DRINK YOU HAVE IN THE MORNING, AND AT WHAT TIME?

Coffee. I drink it with my breakfast at 7:30. Caffeine and I are currently friends. I feel energized and fantastic after I drink it.

DO YOU EXERCISE IN THE MORNING AND/OR MEDITATE IN THE MORNING?

Sometimes I do exercise in the mornings. When I do, I do those 20–30 minute high intensity interval training workouts in my basement.

PHOTO: WILSAR CREATIVE

HOW SOON AFTER WAKING UP DO YOU CHECK YOUR PHONE?[CHECK/SEND EMAILS, SOCIAL MEDIA]

I check my phone not long after waking up. Normally I use my phone when doing the first “S”.

WHAT ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT TASKS YOU COMPLETE IN THE MORNING?

My 3 most important tasks I complete in the mornings are:

  1. Strategically plan/Prioritize the day;
  2. Check and respond to any messages received overnight;
  3. Talk to God.

WHAT IS YOUR BEDTIME ROUTINE?

My bedtime routine is simple. I check my messages one last time. I put my phone down and spend some quality time with my wife. We usually talk, watch television, or both.

ARE YOU ABLE TO KEEP THE SAME ROUTINE WHEN YOU’RE TRAVELING OR IN A DIFFERENT ENVIRONMENT?

For the most part yes. Routines must be flexible. It may not be ideal but you have to roll with it.

DO YOU STICK TO YOUR ROUTINE ON THE WEEKENDS OR DO YOU TWEAK IT?

My weekends are a bit more relaxed. I still get up early on weekends, but my routines are usually remixed.

DO YOU SEE A CHANGE IN YOUR DAY IF YOU FORGET/DON’T TO FOLLOW YOUR MORNING ROUTINE?

Sometimes. But once the day is started I go with the flow to do my very best to make it a productive one.

WHAT PROJECT(S) ARE YOU CURRENTLY WORKING ON WHICH ADDS VALUE TO YOUR LIFE?

I’m currently working on creating a vision board for 2018. If I can see it, I can achieve it.

CONNECT WITH APRIL ON IG AND TW

Thank you for reading! Feel free to hit the recommend button below if you found this piece helpful.

Questions, thoughts, suggestions? Let’s talk in the comments below, or find us Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram — @MelaninHabits

Melanin Habits is a property of Wilsar Creative

--

--

Melanin Habits
Melanin Habits

online community that examine the daily #habits of #blackInfluencers to help you live and work #intentionally | Created by @CallMeWilsar.