Alma Recommends: “Señorita” by Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello

Alma Awakened
Memoir Mixtapes
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2019

--

Photo Credit: Pixabay

I have had many nicknames and pen names throughout my life, and have gained a few more over the last few years. Some I chose myself, and I use them to identify a side of me or fulfill a particular role like being an artist. Others though have been given to me by people that I care for in life. And those not only make me feel unique and special, but they carry the character of the relationship and define who I am in it even in their simplicity. They may not be anything out of the ordinary to others, but they are a term of endearment that defines the special connection between me and someone else.

That is why I love it when you call me señorita. Camila and I sure share that sentiment. It’s soft, sexy, sweet, and speaks to my roots and the raw parts of me, all the things that I could feel alive between us from the first day I met you. I still remember that cold night.

I wasn’t as lucky as Camila, whom this happened to in Miami on a day filled with hot air from summer rain. I was in New York City, on a cold night where you could still feel the wetness of the lingering snow being pulled into the air by the razing cars that drove by.

Meeting you that night was not something I expected to happen. I wasn’t even supposed to be at that party. We shook hands and said hello, but I don’t think we even…

--

--

Alma Awakened
Memoir Mixtapes

Passionate writer inspired by life moments and a profound desire to let her creativity fly high and her soul shine bright