Zack Raab: Team Israel’s #1 Fan

Max Wildstein
Mensches in the Outfield
2 min readMar 3, 2017
Twitter

As many as you know, I made a trip to Brooklyn for Team Israel’s quest to the World Baseball Classic, as they had to go through the qualifying stage in September. Team Israel swept their way through qualifying in front of thousands of fans that were cheering them on.

Some of these fans were from the New York area. Some, like me, were from other parts of the United States. Then there’s Zach Raab — Team Israel’s ultimate superfan. Here’s his Twitter… look at it and you’ll understand.

Raab is from Givat Shmuel, which is a city in Israel. Yes, Israel. He made the trip from Israel to New York City to watch a baseball team, but not just any baseball team, a baseball team comprised of just professional Jewish ball players.

With Team Israel winning the qualifying round in Brooklyn, they now have to travel to Seoul, South Korea. Guess who’s also going? Zach Raab.

“About the minute after they clinched that final game on September 25, I was with a couple of my friends who I recruited to come to the games with me, Raab said to The Sports Rabbi. “I went on my phone and started going through airline websites.”

Five and a half months later and he’ll be in attendance when Team Israel takes on Team Korea in the first game of the World Baseball Classic.

--

--