The True Nature of Glinda the Good in the Wizard of Oz

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Mental Gecko
Published in
6 min readAug 28, 2018

--

Credit: Insomnia Cured Here on Flickr

While I was recovering from Shingles, I was doing anything I could to keep my mind off of it. This mostly consisted of watching Netflix and any movies I could find that took almost no thought. One of those endless days of marathon binge watching included the Wizard of Oz. Granted, I wasn’t in the best of moods and was likely getting annoyed with things I wouldn’t have otherwise, but I couldn’t help wondering who had decided Glinda was a good witch?

I mean, honestly, just look at her behavior. First, instead of dealing with one of her rivals in a rational, reasonable manner she drops a house on her and kills her. Then she pillages the body, steals the poor witch’s shoes and hands them to a young girl without asking if the girl minded that they’d come off a dead woman. Not exactly a gift that says, “Thinking of you.”

When push comes to shove, Glinda even blames the young girl for the other witch’s death, then sets her up with this supposedly great and powerful Wizard who Glinda had to be in cahoots with. If she was really a witch, wouldn’t she had known he was just some sad wizard wannabe hiding behind a curtain and wasn’t even talented enough to keep his balloon on track?

Glinda’s Manipulations

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Mental Gecko

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank