Healing From Abuse is a Journey-Not a Destination

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community
9 min readMay 14, 2021

--

This past year has been full of reminders and painful memories of what I have overcome after years of abuse. I cannot explain this to you if you have never been emotionally, physically, sexually or physically abused, but I will try to help you comprehend what happens when you begin to heal.

The first thing all survivors of abuse need to realize is that your healing is never done. There is never a finish line or a light at the end of the tunnel. There may be multiple lights, as you feel your own successes, but that doesn’t mean you are completely finished on your journey.

I have been doing a ton of work on getting past the lingering effects of abuse, and I have yet to see where it will take me. Every day is a new direction, a new obstacle, a new challenge and a new way to see things.

I work with a therapist, and have been for close to 7 months now. This is not the first time I have had professional help, but it is the first time I have found someone who works on a level that I buy into. Which brings me to my first realization:

--

--

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community

Writer of relationships / early childhood and mental health . Poetry and fiction dabbler