My Niece Wasn’t “Taken” by Fentanyl

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community
9 min readApr 20, 2021

--

In March of 1995, my sister had a healthy, beautiful baby girl. She was the second child born to my sister and brother in law, and she was energetic, vibrant and loud as a child, and as a teen. Her brother was born two years after her, to the very date-March 16.

In total, my sister and her husband had 3 children; their eldest, *Danicka, was 6 years ahead of her sister, then came *Serenity, and finally their brother, *Desmond.

These three children wanted for nothing in life.

My sister and I grew up in a poverty stricken abusive home. Our parents were alcoholics who left us alone constantly, to fend for ourselves. As Mothers, both my sister and myself vowed to never mistreat our own children in the same manner. We wanted to give our children everything we lacked, and more. I had a daughter, and to protect her, I removed her from our family toxins, from the moment she was born. My sister chose to stay in the same city, with the rest of our family.

Photo by Kirill Balobanov on Unsplash

*Serenity

My sister and I had very different life goals and plans. She was born with stirrups at her feet…

--

--

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community

Writer of relationships / early childhood and mental health . Poetry and fiction dabbler