Things I Would Say to the Narcissist I Left Behind

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community
7 min readSep 14, 2020

--

So, you have left a brutal, toxic relationship behind you. Me too. I have been broken free for well over a year now, and this damn trauma bond is still with me. Further research has taught me that the Trauma Bond you share with an abuser is with you forever, but you need to, somehow, manage it. You can read more about that here.

Trauma bonds may be manageable, and the more you learn about them, the easier it becomes to deal with them. The bond will cause flashbacks, overthinking, irrational negative thoughts, self loathing, anxiety and other mental anguish, if you allow them to. If the narcissist knew the damage that I have endured, there is no doubt in my mind that it would inflate his ego, just to know that he still impacted my day to day life.

I have worked extremely hard on the residual flashbacks and the leftover anxiety, I took as souvenirs from that relationship. I have done plenty of self talk, reflection and work with a therapist, who has helped me to categorize my trauma and my emotional health set backs. It is a work in progress, but I have seen some successes. I have also seen where many of my struggles are rooted from.

--

--

Kristina H
Mental Health and Addictions Community

Writer of relationships / early childhood and mental health . Poetry and fiction dabbler