The Zeigarnik Effect and Memory: Understanding My Unfinished Business

@bear_in_the_dark - Growth Hackers
Mental Health App
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2024

I’ve always found it fascinating how some tasks or thoughts stick in my mind, nagging at me until they’re resolved.

This phenomenon is known as the Zeigarnik Effect, a concept in psychology that explains why unfinished tasks are more memorable than completed ones.

What is the Zeigarnik Effect?

The Zeigarnik Effect is named after Russian psychologist Bluma Zeigarnik, who discovered that people are more likely to remember tasks that are incomplete or interrupted than those that have been finished. It’s as if our brains create a mental reminder to return to these unresolved tasks, making them more prominent in our memory.

How the Zeigarnik Effect Works

Here’s how I understand the process:

  1. Task Initiation: When I start a task, my brain creates a cognitive tension that motivates me to complete it. This tension keeps the task active in my memory.
  2. Interruption: If the task is interrupted or left unfinished, the cognitive tension remains, making the task linger in my mind.
  3. Completion: Once I complete the task, the cognitive tension is resolved, and the task’s prominence in my memory diminishes.

Examples in Everyday Life

Work Projects:

When I’m working on a project and get interrupted, I find it hard to forget about it until I can return and finish it. This effect helps me stay focused on incomplete tasks, ensuring they get completed.

Household Chores:

If I start cleaning a room and then get distracted, the unfinished chore keeps popping into my mind. I can’t relax until I’ve gone back and finished the cleaning.

Reading a Book:

If I’m in the middle of an exciting book and have to stop reading, the unresolved storyline keeps pulling at my attention, making me eager to return and find out what happens next.

Conversations:

When I have an unresolved conversation or an unfinished discussion with someone, I keep thinking about it. This effect makes me more likely to revisit the topic and seek closure.

How the Zeigarnik Effect Impacts My Memory and Behavior

Improved Memory for Unfinished Tasks:

The Zeigarnik Effect helps me remember incomplete tasks better than those I’ve finished. This can be beneficial for productivity, as it keeps important tasks top-of-mind until they’re completed.

Persistent Thoughts:

Sometimes, the Zeigarnik Effect can lead to persistent, nagging thoughts about unfinished tasks, which can be distracting. This is especially true when I have multiple incomplete tasks competing for my attention.

Motivation to Complete Tasks:

Understanding the Zeigarnik Effect has helped me use it to my advantage. By recognizing that unfinished tasks will continue to occupy my mind, I’m motivated to complete them more efficiently to achieve mental closure.

Using the Zeigarnik Effect to Improve Productivity

Break Tasks into Smaller Steps:

When I’m faced with a large project, I break it into smaller, manageable steps. Completing each step provides a sense of accomplishment and reduces the overall cognitive tension.

Set Clear Endpoints:

I set clear endpoints for my tasks. Even if I can’t finish the entire task, having a defined stopping point helps reduce the mental burden of an unfinished task.

Use It for Learning:

I use the Zeigarnik Effect to enhance my learning. When studying, I deliberately take breaks at points where I’m still curious or need to solve something. This keeps the material active in my memory, making it easier to recall later.

Manage Interruptions:

I try to manage interruptions by keeping a to-do list. When I’m interrupted, I note down where I left off and what needs to be done next. This way, I can quickly resume the task without losing track of my progress.

--

--

@bear_in_the_dark - Growth Hackers
Mental Health App

Personal Growth Hacking and Language learning is our passion. Our Flagman-apps are Brainlighter for Better Life and Metkagram. We share a lot. Join us