It’s Easier to Love Pretty Things

Varun Penamatsa
Mental Health Arena
5 min readMay 3, 2019

--

Photo by Jorge Zapata

My confrontation with body-shaming and the ‘unattractive’.

I recently read an article that hit home in its illumination of some of the judgments I often hold towards others, which are informed purely by the way that they look.

Often times, this takes the form of “fat is failure”, or some other face-level valuation of an individual that fails to consider anything but their physiology.

It’s not so much that I was unconscious of the presence of assumptive judgments, so much as that I had yet to fully admit I harbored and made them so frequently.

Judgment is quick…and it’s difficult to admit to

It’s estimated that we judge others in a fraction of a fraction of a second. I am certainly not the exception to this rule.

This is often, as I’ve now noticed is true in my case, based almost purely on one’s physical appearance.

When written or said aloud, it becomes an especially difficult truth to come to terms with.

This habit could, and likely has, inhibited what could have been otherwise meaningful friendships, connections and life experiences.

We Allow Appearance to Inform Our Perception

--

--

Varun Penamatsa
Mental Health Arena

Helper, seeker, student. Explorer of health and the human condition. Curious about everything. ❤️