Welcome!

M. R. Prichard
Mental Health Day
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readAug 10, 2021

Wow, hello to all of you! I can’t believe there are suddenly 88 followers of my little publication but here you all are. I’m so glad that you’ve decided to join me on my journey to a better mental health.

For anyone who hasn’t read everything on the page, my name is Megan and I’m the creator and only current writer of Mental Health Day. I have several diagnoses under my belt but I write primarily about my struggles with late ADHD diagnosis as well as social anxiety.

But I want to turn this into so much more.

Mental Health Day in my mind has always been about being a catch-all place for me — and others! — to work out thoughts, feelings, emotions, and more in a safe place.

I’m a teacher by day (well, actually by night since I work classes from 2pm to 9pm every day) and one of my biggest goals as a teacher is to create a safe and comfortable environment for all of my students to be able to speak up, ask questions, or contribute to discussion if they want to. I extend the same courtesy to anyone who wishes to write for Mental Health Day with me.

A snapshot into my life. My incredible husband and life partner and our spoiled rotten Jack Russell, Rudy

Besides a teacher, I also have been writing on Medium for over a year now. I got my Bachelor’s in English composition and am in the midst of working on a poetry collection that hopefully will see the light of day eventually. I am a dog mom, a wife, an aunt to three gorgeous nieces and one beautiful nephew, and I think I may be the happiest I’ve ever been right now. Humble brag, I know.

I will be posting contribution guidelines hopefully within the next week or so. As much as I like the idea of being the only writer here, I also don’t love how sporadic my publishing schedule is. I started this pub in February and it’s certainly grown a lot in the last month or two, but I know it can be more.

If you are interested in becoming a writer for Mental Health Day, stay tuned! I have big plans for this little space on Medium and I hope you enjoy what’s in store.

Sincerely yours,
Meg

--

--

M. R. Prichard
Mental Health Day

I’m not confused, I’m just not paying attention. B.S. in English composition, burgeoning gamer girl, and mental health advocate.