I pulled out A in the health Scrabble lottery

JaneA*
Mental health in London
3 min readMay 10, 2016

--

Mine is a story of two health conditions, both of which have been with me most of my life. I was diagnosed with one when I was five, and one about eight years ago. I have asthma and I have anxiety — and this is why I believe that physical and mental illness shouldn’t be treated differently. I didn’t chose to have either but neither makes me a weak person.

Most of the time I am a very healthy and well person, bar a few pounds which I am keen to lose.

When my asthma is bad I have trouble regulating my breathing, my airways are tight to the point of closing and I struggle to get up a flight of stairs. Mainly it is well controlled with inhalers, which I take every day, and I know how to take care of myself, avoiding smoky places and being careful if I have a cold or hay fever. I have my ‘flu jabs and regular reviews.

When my anxiety is bad, I am unable to go places, see people, or visit anywhere I haven’t been before. At its worst, when I say goodbye to someone, I am convinced I will never see them again, that one of us will die before that can happen. Thankfully this too is well controlled — I had a series of sessions of cognitive behavioural therapy at my GP surgery when I was first diagnosed, and I take medication every day. I know how to take care of myself, making sure to get quality sleep, to use CBT to bring myself into a better place, and when to ask for help.

So what’s the difference? To me, not much.

They just are what they are, and I need to stay on top of staying well, and avoid things which might make me worse, whilst not limiting myself or what I can do. Neither condition has stopped me working, and knowing about how different conditions affect different people has made me appreciate more the struggles that some experience. I know being able to stay well isn’t the case for everyone, and that I am lucky that neither of these conditions is severe or incapacitating.

My message is simple: we all have a responsibility to look after our total health, but when that doesn’t work, ask for help. Don’t struggle in silence and don’t assume no one will understand. Don’t put it off. My GP listened to me with compassion and insight and we have a good partnership approach to keeping me well. Again, for that, I count myself lucky.

--

--