This time last year…

Elliott J Hunt
Sanctus

--

This time last year I had returned from a year and a half abroad and decided to set up again in London. No money, no job, no where to live. It was pretty depressing.

A friend of mine (James @ Sanctus) helped me out a lot and introduced me to a friend of his. His friend needed someone to live in his newly purchased house in London. He let me know that I’d be doing him a favour as it would stop squatters from entering whilst the place was empty.

This was not a new build! It was completely unrenovated. The top floor was the only livable space, a bed, a sofa, a small kitchen, no internet and a gas meter. The meter needed topping up every couple of days with the few pounds I had spare. Me and James nicknamed it “the haunted house”, but It was free and all that was needed.

I spent the next 2 months looking for work; I went to coffee shops all over london to get wifi and to prepare for interviews. I remember one time a tramp literally falling asleep next to me in Pret! Almost on my lap 👍. After 2 months of searching and 25+ interviews I was at an ends. No luck, I was about to give up on the idea of building a life in London ….

Then things began to change. Another friend of mine messaged me about a position that had fiiiinally become available. It was temporary role, but a start. I secured it and I have worked my butt off ever since.

In the mean time I have made the most of my time. I have ran a half marathon, raised £950 for an NGO in a Brazilian favella, overhauled my diet, sat the first part of the IMC, visited 2 new countries, gained a huge amount of knowledge in politics and the economy, joined an 11 a side football team and I have a tremendous new appreciation for the mind from all the reading on psychology I have been doing.

I plan to run the London marathon next year (my place was just confirmed last week), to complete the IMC (my exam is Jan 30th), do the IOC and start the CFA.

I can now also say that I am a permanent employee at work and have a future in sight. 😊

This is not me bragging. This dialogue is a time for me to reflect, appreciate what I have achieved, appreciate where I was to where I am and focus on the positive. Best foot forward, keep learning, keep growing and I wish each person I know all the best for their future! 👍

Elliott x

Where were you this time last year?

--

--