Well Hello There….

Rosie Scanlon-Jones
Sanctus
Published in
3 min readJan 16, 2018

I’m Rose, but please feel free to call me Ro.

Honestly, I’m so chuffed to be joining the Sanctus team and to help nurture the amazing work they’re doing in breaking the stigma and changing the perception around mental health.

You’ll be seeing a lot more of me as I slowly, but gradually, help build this amazing community. Whether it’s at events, on social media or in our newsletter (or on the street) you’ll be seeing a lot more of this little lady.

Who am I?
Like I said I’m Rose, I’m a 4ft.10 Taurian who loves to talk about all things mental health related. As someone who grew up with an Irish Catholic father and a thoroughly hippy Pagan mother mental health was a subject that was either fully accepted or completely ignored. *Off to a great start, I know*

That’s me and the team (I’m in the middle).

But in all seriousness mental health, mental wellbeing or just health..whatever you wish to call it…is something I never shy away from. During my degree in Norwich, I experienced depression and self-harming thoughts, so after months of silence and almost quitting university I sought support. Although seeking help was the most difficult thing I’ve ever done I eventually ended up with weekly counselling sessions that honestly saved my life. After 3 months of sessions, I started to feel how I had felt before, happy and stable. With a mix of gratitude and amazement for the help I had received I enrolled myself in a short course into Person Centred Therapy. Thus began my journey into exploring the world of mental health care and support.

It goes without saying my journey with mental health hasn’t just been from my own perspective, I grew up with a sister who has battled depression and anxiety her whole life. I have also been fortunate enough to have friends around me who have shown me so much about the broad spectrum of mental health. I also spent the last year exploring my boundaries by going sober, living a Yogi life and blogging about my sober Tinder dates.

Me looking wistful.

Anywho…moving swiftly onwards, I’m going to be heading all things Community, so I’m going to be spending some time getting to everyone who follows Sanctus. I want to absorb feedback, all your ideas and soak in all I can from our Community. As a strong voice in the mental health conversation, I want to make sure we’re doing our best to elevate you, support you and assist your mental health journey.

Think that’s all from me,
Thanks for listening, and I’ll see you soon.

--

--

Rosie Scanlon-Jones
Sanctus
Editor for

London based Community Manager for @Sanctusldn, working in mental health, helping tell others mental health stories and empowering mental health advocates.