An Open Letter to the Narcissist That Tried to Ruin My Life

Jennifer | That Psych Nerd
That Psych Nerd
Published in
4 min readAug 6, 2021

--

Hey there, it’s me, your little chess piece you tried to destroy.

Hey there, it’s me, your little chess piece you tried to destroy.

Well look at me, I am alive and well! I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on our relationship.

There have been such ups and downs throughout the years. Love, hate, anger, deceit, and fear.

But not everything was bad.

There were times when you were in my life, and things seemed to be okay. I thought that maybe this was going to be it, no more games. We were finally going to have a normal relationship and be a family. After all, you’ve known me since the day I was born.

You were the person I was told to look up to. I valued your approval and sought your praise. You took me under your wing and helped guide me — until I noticed your guidance was a bit off course.

It was so hard to see past all your bullshit.

All of the bouts of normalcy never lasted long. Things never seemed to change with you, the torment never stopped. I can’t remember a time when things were ever good with you.

--

--

Jennifer | That Psych Nerd
That Psych Nerd

MS in Psychology | Mom of three cats, a puppy, and many plants | That Psych Nerd |