Be Bold Enough To Use Your Voice

Brave enough to listen to your heart!

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
2 min readJun 12, 2019

--

It can be truly powerful to use our voices for the greater good and for also the positive! To help give those who can’t speak, a voice. For those who feel voiceless or can’t speak at all. For those who feel powerless and feel like they can’t do anything right nor achieve anything in their life.

Be that symbol of hope that it is possible and it is real. That hope is all around us: it’s in each on of us! We have it in ourselves to make a real difference in this world. It all begins with one person and then another and another like a chain reaction. It passes on from one person to another and so on!

Anyway, this is my new life! I’ve been through a lot over the many years of my life with my parents (emotional abuse), mental health issues (depression, anxiety, PTSD) and with having worked at Walmart for 2 years, it’s finally a new chapter for me to begin and live my life on my own terms!

And strong enough to live the life you have imagined.

I’ve been waiting for the opportunity and the chance to leave Walmart and it was 50/50 from good and bad terms. Close to the end or the last 6 months I found myself wearing colour after the store manager, Tracy became more strict on the “black and white “ dress code.

She wasn’t strict on it for many months but around the fall season last year after being bumped up to a cashier (for more hours and money plus helping them out due to lacking enough cashiers). So I wore colour form January 2018 till sometime in the fall last year (2018) and I truly enjoyed the time I had to enjoy wearing colour and not being brought to the side or to one of the management offices to talk about how I was “violating” the dress code rules!

Screw following the rules when the rules have put my health more at risk along with my success there and my confidence and being able to be myself with no limitations that feed anxiety.

It’s never too late to become the person you were meant to be.

This is my time now that I’m not working at Walmart anymore to be my true authentic self (regardless of my own circumstances) and live my life on my own terms without having anyone like Walmart, society or anyone else tell me how to live it!

My life hasn’t been what I thought it would be but now that I have started a new chapter of my life; this is my chance to make things right. To make my life mine again and take it back!

Everyday has the potential to be the best day of your life! Make it happen!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.