Getting Back To A Healthy Dosage Of… My Blog

The most creative act you will ever undertake is the act of creating yourself. ~ Deepak Chopra

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
3 min readMar 22, 2020

--

We all have our own hobbies and things we are passionate for/about. For me, one hobby I have is blogging. In fall 2014, I began really inspiring people with my Tumblr Blog (Laura 1646) and it was greatly connected to my life purpose.

But sometime in second semester of my college program in office administration at Conestoga College, I went into my first official depressive episode. I went deep into my depression and it was hard to get out of it when I felt like I could barely get a grasp of fresh air, or rather come up for air.

But after coming home from college in late April 2015, I began recovering on my own without seeking a doctor for treatment and diagnosis or anything. I did that because I knew I wouldn’t easily enough seek a doctor to do exactly that so soon after coming home. So I did the only thing I could… and I did with very little people knowing.

I did have a couple friends or so there to stay in contact with and there for support throughout my recovery. Though I came to some crossroads and bumps but I somehow managed to cope with these changes.

When it comes to recovery, one thing that always benefits positive mental health is… creativity. And the complete opposite of that is: black and white thinking. But more so: a thinking trap that I’ve struggled to not fall for. And working for 2 years at Walmart from July 2017 to June 2019, that environment was purely black and white with the exception of the little creativity/fun the management team has been doing for their associates.

And I’ve been more a fan of creativity than the S.M.A.R.T. Goals because I always had a problem or issue with the “R”. Realistic: what can you define as a realistic goal?

Realism versus creativity. Which do you think will win? What I’m saying is: “there are two wolves and they are always fighting. One is darkness and despair. The other is light and hope. Which wolf wins? The answer is whichever wolf you feed.

I’m claiming and choosing everyday to feed the light and hope one. Why because there is absolutely a lot of possibilities of achieving anything. Because when you are living a creative life and believe in creativity: you believe that: nothing is impossible. Therefore stating that I’m possible. I’m quoting someone and guess who?

Audrey Hepburn. When it comes to thinking, I always prefer to think creatively. Because it has always gotten me more success than black and white thinking ever has. Plus like this quote from Albert Einstein says:

We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them. ~ Albert Einstein

Therefore I’m saying that I don’t wanna spend another moment of my life thinking black and white, and rather spend every moment from now on: thinking and living a creative life!

If you think logically, your gonna lose the creative arts. ~ Topanga Mathews

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.