Mental Health – Songs

Songs can play a great part in life: for mental health, breakups, falling in love, inspiration, a pick-me-up and many others. Music can also alter and impact our lives just by listening to the right songs at the right moments…

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
4 min readMay 31, 2016

--

Here are a list of songs that I listened to a lot while suffering from depression. – a.k.a. recovered now

Avril Lavigne – I’m With You

“I’m looking for a place. I’m searching for a face. Is anybody here I know. ‘Cause nothing’s going right. And everything’s a mess. And no one likes to be alone. Isn’t anyone trying to find me? Won’t somebody come take me home? It’s a damn cold night. Trying to figure out this life. Won’t you take me by the hand? Take me somewhere new. I don’t know who you are. But I… I’m with you. I’m with you.”

Avril Lavigne – Nobody’s Home

“I couldn’t tell you. Why she felt that way. She felt it everyday. And I couldn’t help her. I just watched her make the same mistakes again.”

“Her feelings she hides. Her dreams she can’t find. She’s losing her mind. She’s falling behind. She can’t find her place. She’s losing her faith. She’s falling from grace. She’s all over the place yeah.”

Mia Martina – HFH

“I don’t feel like smiling. No there’s nothing you could do for me. Today I just feel like dying.”

“Don’t pretend like I’m overreacting again. Excuse me for feeling this way.”

“Don’t you think if I could that I would pull this knife from my back and move on.”

“Go on. Go on. Take away everything I own. What do you want? Why can’t you leave me the hell alone? Why won’t you just let me be?”

Ellie Goulding – Love Me Like You Do

“Cuz I’m not thinking straight. My head’s spinning around. I can’t see clear no more.”

Selena Gomez – The Heart Wants What The Heart Wants

“Hand over heart I’m praying that I’ll make it out alive.”

“Every second’s like torture”

Conclusion

Therefore these songs I was immune to when I was listening to music. That’s what I felt, that what I wanted to feel because your a prisoner when your suffering from depression. I was at the point where I just didn’t want to get better. I couldn’t save myself, only others around me that would even care enough to:

“Save me from myself. Cuz I need somebody’s help.” – Rachel Platten

Why did I think this? Because I had suicidal thoughts that sounded like:

  • If I can’t be who I want to be (depression makes you the complete opposite of who you were before) and do what I want to do (happy, achieving my life purposes…) then why am I here?
  • I’d rather be dead than alive. It would make my family’s and friends lives a lot easier and less stressful if I were gone completely
  • Life is too hard, and I can’t take it anymore. I’m just done with life. With everything. I want to end this pain. (Yet the only way we think is easiest to achieve is by ending our own life, rather than getting the help we need, but that’s harder because of how powerful and convincing the stigma is around mental health).
  • I don’t want to here anymore. No one is listening to me, understanding what I’m going through (except for my friend, Tracey Baszo and friends who can relate on Tumbr). This is torture.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.